Seven outstanding Iowa high school seniors have been named as semifinalists for the 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholars program.

Six of Iowa’s selected semifinalists were recognized for overall academic accomplishments as high school seniors, and one student was selected for high achievements in career and technical education (CTE). This year’s semifinalists include: 
●    Andrew Dong, Iowa City – West High School
●    Sutra Iyer, Cedar Rapids – Linn-Mar High School
●    Caitlyn Akiko Kono, Dubuque – Dubuque Senior High School
●    Michael Y. Lee, Iowa City – West High School
●    Sarah Park, Ames – Ames High School
●    Korey L. Wells, Council Bluffs – Lewis Central High School
●    Cole W. Wessel, Long Grove – North Scott High School (CTE semifinalist)

The semifinalists were narrowed down from a field of 91 selected candidates from Iowa.

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, the U.S. Presidential Scholars program honors the nation’s most distinguished high school seniors. The program was originally established in 1964 by the executive order of the President and was extended in 1979 to include recognition of high achievements in visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program also recognized students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education.

Each year, up to 161 students across the country are named as U.S. Presidential Scholars, which is one of the highest honors for high school students. Final awardees for the 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholars program will be announced in May.

Visit the U.S. Department of Education website to learn more about the Presidential Scholars program or view the full list of semifinalists.