Iowa Administrative Code 281-24.5(6) requires Iowa’s community colleges to prepare and publish five-year strategic plans. The Department of Education collects these plans and reports on key practices implemented as a result of the planning process through the state accreditation process.

AreaCollegeStart YearEnd Year
Area 1Northeast Iowa Community College20222024
Area 2North Iowa Area Community College20182023
Area 3Iowa Lakes Community College20242028
Area 4Northwest Iowa Community College20222026
Area 5Iowa Central Community College20202023
Area 6Iowa Valley Community College20202026
Area 7Hawkeye Community College20212025
Area 9Eastern Iowa Community College20212024
Area 10Kirkwood Community College20242027
Area 11Des Moines Area Community College20232028
Area 12Western Iowa Tech Community College20212024
Area 13Iowa Western Community College20202024
Area 14Southwestern Community College20212025
Area 15Indian Hills Community College20212024
Area 16Southeastern Community College20232028