The Iowa Department of Education co-sponsors the “History Teacher of the Year” award for K-12 teachers who have at least three years of classroom teaching experience and can demonstrate a commitment to the teaching of American history in creative ways.

Back to top

Who Can Nominate?

Candidates may be nominated by friends, family, students, or colleagues. The winner of the state award receives a prize package including a certificate of recognition, a $1,000 award, a collection of classroom resources to be presented in their name to the school library, and an invitation to participate in a Gilder Lehrman Institute summer seminar. From the state winners, one is recognized as the National History Teacher of the Year.

Back to top

Award Process

The Iowa winner is honored at the Iowa Teacher of the Year Recognition Event.

The National History Teacher of the Year is honored at an awards ceremony in New York City, NY, and awarded a $10,000 prize.

The award is co-sponsored by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History and Preserve America.

Back to top

Nomination Information

National History Teacher of the Year Nomination Form - Submission deadline for the 2022 award is April 30, 2022.

Visit the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History website to learn more.

Back to top

Past Honorees

2022Suzann TurnerNashua-Plainfield Middle/High SchoolNashua
2021Amber DavisonHoover High SchoolDes Moines
2020Janet WillsSoutheast Valley Middle SchoolBurnside
2019Kelly SteffenVinton-Shellsburg High SchoolVinton
2018Kimberly Meller-AngusNorthview Middle SchoolAnkeny
2017Rebecca HellandPella SchoolPella
2016James HeithoffWinterset SchoolWinterset
2015No winner chosen  
2014James HardyEast Union Community SchoolAfton
2013Josh CulbersonLamoni Elementary SchoolLamoni
2012Monte DeArmounNorthwood-Kensett Junior-Senior High SchoolNorthwood
2011Lisa ZylstraJefferson Intermediate SchoolPella
2010Brian ConnickAlgona Community High SchoolAlgona
2009Donna WynnClark Elementary SchoolSioux City
2008Gina HannaPrairie Central Springs Middle SchoolNora Springs
2007Kimberly HeckartPrairie Ridge Elementary SchoolCedar Rapids
2006Nancy J. DaleySt. Patrick Elementary SchoolWaukon
2005Ron VanStrienSoutheast Warren High SchoolLiberty Center
2004James DanielValley High SchoolWest Des Moines
Back to top