The 2024 statewide Iowa Classrooms+Workplaces Summit will be held on Wednesday, April 10 at the Iowa Events Center’s Community Choice Credit Union Convention Center in Des Moines.

Presented by the Iowa Governor’s STEM Advisory Council at the Iowa Department of Education, the Summit invites Iowans from business and industry, education, nonprofits, trade organizations, professional societies and governmental agencies as well as elected officials and students to amplify the public conversation and set the stage for inspiring networks. Attendees will have opportunities to make connections and learn more about establishing learning environments that link classroom learning to real-world career pathways.

ExcelinEd senior policy fellow Christy Hovanetz will open the Summit with a presentation on credentials to careers. Additionally, the morning of the Summit will feature chief academic officer Pat Yongpradit’s plenary session on the “Future of Innovation and STEM: CS and AI Education as a Foundation.”  

A highlight of the Summit will include an inspiring lunchtime presentation by Kemin Industries. Along with remarks on the importance of science education in our world today, Kemin Industries will also recognize the six recipients of the 2024 STEM Teacher Award. The STEM Teacher Award has been sponsored by Kemin Industries since 2014.

The afternoon breakout sessions will provide an array of options for career-linked learning with actionable outcomes.

The registration deadline is April 3. Thanks to generous sponsors, the Summit is free of charge and open to the public. The official event runs from 9:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m, with check-in beginning at 8:30 a.m.

For more information on the Iowa Classroom+Workplaces Summit, visit the Department’s STEM Advisory Council webpage.

Iowa summit

About the Iowa Governor’s STEM Advisory Council: Established in July 2011 via Governor’s Executive Order, the Iowa Governor’s STEM Advisory Council leverages public-private partnerships of educators, workplaces and Iowa students and families to ensure that every Iowa student has access to world-class STEM education opportunities. The Council’s work supports strong college and career pathways for students and growth for state and local economies. The 44-member STEM Council is co-chaired by Governor Kim Reynolds and Foundation Analytical Laboratory Owner and Director of Technical Services Diane Young. For more information, visit