Two Iowa high school seniors have been selected as 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholars by the U.S. Department of Education. Recognizing outstanding accomplishments in academics, the arts and career and technical education, the U.S. Presidential Scholars program honors up to 161 students around the country each year and is one of the highest honors a student can achieve.

Iowa’s U.S. Presidential Scholars for 2024 are:

  • Andrew Dong, West High School, Iowa City
  • Sarah Park, Ames High School, Ames

Students are selected based on their academic achievement, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.

U.S. Presidential Scholars are comprised of one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and U.S. families living abroad. Additional students are included in the selection for the program, with 15 at-large scholars, 20 scholars for the arts and 20 scholars for career and technical education.

Now in its 60th year of operation, the U.S Presidential Scholars program honors the nation’s most distinguished high school seniors. The program was originally established in 1964 by the executive order of the President and was extended in 1979 to include recognition of high achievements in visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program also recognized students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education.

A complete list of the 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholars is available on the U.S. Department of Education website.