The Commission on Educator Leadership and Compensation was created as part of House File 215 to play a key role in implementing the statewide Teacher Leadership and Compensation (TLC) System. School districts that pursue state funding for a local TLC system will submit plans to the Commission. Commission members will evaluate plans and make recommendations for approval to the Iowa Department of Education.

Vision Statement

Through the development and support of opportunities for teachers in schools and school districts statewide to learn from each other, we will positively impact student achievement, staff morale, and school culture by ensuring quality instruction in every classroom.

Meeting Dates, Agendas & Notes

Feb. 15, 2023


  • Deb Barry, Teacher, Linn-Mar
  • Lisa Bartusek, Iowa Association of School Boards, Des Moines
  • Mike Beranek, Teacher, West Des Moines
  • Elizabeth Brennan, Iowa Association of School Boards , West Des Moines
  • Janelle Brouwer, Superintendent, Marion
  • Mary Jane Cobb, Iowa State Education Association, Des Moines
  • Kevin Ericson, Teacher, Nevada
  • Paul Gausman, Superintendent, Sioux City
  • Jim Green, Iowa Association of School Boards, Cedar Rapids
  • Jeff Herzberg, AEA Administrator, Pocahontas
  • Roark Horn, School Administrators of Iowa, Clive
  • Tara Irwin, Parent, Dewitt
  • Jeff Orvis, Teacher, Waverly-Shell Rock
  • Catherine Parmerlee, Teacher, Ankeny
  • Diane Pratt, Teacher, Fort Dodge
  • Zipporah Smith, Teacher, Des Moines
  • Matt Townsley, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls
  • Vacant, Iowa Association of School Boards
  • Doug Wheeler, Superintendent, Cedar Rapids

*Non-voting member