Related Topics:

Integrated Student Supports

A school counseling program is an articulated, sequential, kindergarten-through-grade 12 program that is comprehensive in scope, preventative in design, developmental in nature, driven by data, and integral to the school district’s curricula and instructional program. The program must be implemented by a qualified professional school counselor who is appropriately licensed.

School Counseling endorsements include:

The following institutions provide training and licensing in Iowa for school counselors:

Additional licensure information from the Iowa School Counselor Association.

Back to top

K-12 Articulated, Sequential School Counseling Programs

School counselors design and deliver school counseling programs that improve student outcomes. The program development is guided by the American School Counseling Association (ASCA) National Model as a framework.

The ASCA National Model: A Framework for School Counseling Programs outlines the components of a school counseling program that is integral to the school’s academic mission and is created to have a significant positive impact on student achievement, attendance and discipline.

Iowa Professional School Counselor Administrative Rules

Iowa's Chapter 12 Interpretation Matrix - Includes standards for school counseling programs

Back to top

School Counselor as a Professional

School counselors are appropriately licensed/certified educators who design and deliver comprehensive school counseling programs that improve student outcomes

Iowa Evaluation Supplement for School Counselors - Within this document, you will find a section devoted to the eight teaching standards crosswalked with the ASCA School Counselor Professional Standards and Competencies. In an effort to strive toward continuous improvement and growth, it is recommended that school counselors and administrators utilize the Annual Administrative Conference to reflect back on the most recently completed Evaluation Supplement in order to consider what professional learning needs exist as well as progress made toward implementation of School Counselor Professional Standards and Competencies.

Back to top

Supporting Iowa’s School Counselors: The Iowa School Counselors Association (ISCA) 

The Iowa School Counselor Association (ISCA) - Provides advocacy for and supports to Iowa school counselors as they implement school counseling programs in line with the ASCA National Model. An annual conference is held each fall and supports the ISCA Vision of advocacy, communication, marketing and the cultivation of leadership to develop emerging leaders.

Back to top

Resources for Implementing a Comprehensive Program

Iowa's Multi-Tiered System of Supports (MTSS)

Iowa's Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS)

Bullying and Harassment

Mental Health

Attendance Works

Future Ready Iowa

Association for Career and Technical Education: Counseling and Career Development Division

Iowa Clearinghouse for Work-Based Learning

Career and Academic Planning

Iowa’s College and Career Readiness Definition

Community Colleges

Iowa College Aid

National Association for College Admissions Counseling

Durable Skills

Back to top

AEA Counselor Contacts

AEA Counselor Contacts
AEANameEmailPhone
Central RiversChuck Busemancbuseman@centralriversaea.org641-425-5954
Central RiversAngie Koopakoop@centralriversaea.org319-429-0567
Grant WoodAimee Hospodarskyahospodarsky@gwaea.org319-399-6816
Grant WoodDebra Brokawdbrokaw@gwaea.org319-399-6790
Great PrairieJaci Jarmesjaci.jarmes@gpaea.org641-660-1847
Green HillsAndrea Dankeradanker@ghaea.org712-366-0503 ext. 5225
Green HillsKathy Hanafankhanafan@ghaea.org712-366-0503 ext. 7311
HeartlandSue Schirmersschirmer@heartlandaea.org515-383-5006
KeystoneScotti Hagensickshagensick@keystoneaea.org563-245-1480
Mississippi BendDavid Forddford@mbaea.org563-344-6571
Northwest AEAMark Sheamshea@nwaea.org712-222-6332
Prairie LakesMarni Moodymmoody@plaea.org712-335-6059

 

Back to top