

Minutes State Board of Education April 26, 2024

Brooke Axiotis Vice President Des Moines

Cindy Dietz Cedar Rapids

Cassandra Halis Carlisle

> Brian J. Kane Dubuque

> > Mike May Spirit Lake

Mary Meisterling Cedar Rapids

Nathan Peterson Iowa City

> John Robbins President Iowa Falls

Sophia Van Houten Student Member Ida Grove

> McKenzie Snow Director and Executive Officer

The State Board of Education (State Board) meeting was held on April 26, 2024, in person, at the Grimes State Office Building, 400 E 14th St., Des Moines, Iowa.

State Board members present were John Robbins, Brooke Axiotis, Nathan Peterson, Brian Kane, Mary Meisterling, and Cassandra Halls.

Iowa Department of Education staff members present were: McKenzie Snow, Deborah Elder, Thomas Mayes, Rachel Bosovich, Heather Doe, Eric St Clair, Kim Buryanek, Kassandra Cline, Jina Brincks, Jeremy Varner, Maryam Rod Szabo, Amy Gieseke, April Pforts, Jody Vanderloo, Tom Wood, Steve Ervin, and Jeremy Anzevino.

State Board Business Meeting

John Robbins called the meeting to order at 9:04 a.m.

The meeting was conducted in person, with remote access information provided in the notice of the meeting.

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Mary Meisterling seconded to approve the agenda.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Meeting minutes from November 15, 2023, December 4, 2023, and March 21, 2024.

Motion: Mary Meisterling made a motion and Brian Kane seconded to approve the meeting minutes from November 15, 2023, December 4, 2023 and March 21, 2024.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

John Robbins announced public comment for 30 minutes.

Public Comment

No public comment was made.

Director's Report

Heartland AEA Budget Review

Motion: Brooke Axiotis made a motion and Brian Kane seconded to approve the Heartland AEA budget.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Central Rivers AEA Budget Review

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Nathan Peterson seconded to approve the Central Rivers AEA budget.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

John Robbins announced a 10-minute break. Reconvened at 10:33 a.m.

Grant Wood AEA Budget Review

Motion: Mary Meisterling made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to approve the Grant Wood AEA budget.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Great Prairie AEA Budget Review

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Cassandra Halls seconded to return the budget with comments and require Great Prairie AEA to provide an assurance in writing, no later than the May 9, 2024, State Board meeting, that the AEA will construct a plan to balance the budget for fiscal year 2024-2025 and submit the balanced budget plan, approved by the AEA Board, no later than September 1, 2024.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Green Hills AEA Budget Review

Motion: Brooke Axiotis made a motion and Nathan Peterson seconded to approve the Green Hills AEA budget.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

John Robbins announced a 30-minute break for lunch. Reconvened at 12:29 p.m.

Keystone AEA Budget Review

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Mary Meisterling seconded to approve the Keystone AEA budget.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Mississippi Bend AEA Budget Review

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to approve the Mississippi Bend AEA budget.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Northwest AEA Budget Review

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Nathan Peterson seconded to approve the Northwest AEA budget.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

John Robbins announced a 10-minute break. Reconvened at 1:59 p.m.

Prairie Lakes AEA Budget Review

Motion: Nathan Peterson made a motion and Cassandra Halls seconded to approve the Prairie Lakes AEA budget.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Revision of Iowa Academic Standards for Mathematics

Motion: Mary Meisterling made a motion and Nathan Peterson seconded to approve the Revision of Iowa Academic Standards for Mathematics.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at 2:31 p.m.

Jøhn Robbins President

McKenzie Snow Director