

Minutes State Board of Education March 21, 2024

Brooke Axiotis Vice President Des Moines

Cindy Dietz Cedar Rapids

Cassandra Halls Carlisle

> Brian J. Kane Dubuque

> > Mike May Spirit Lake

Mary Meisterling Cedar Rapids

Nathan Peterson Iowa City

> John Robbins President Iowa Falls

Sophia Van Houten Student Member Ida Grove

> McKenzie Snow Director and Executive Officer

The State Board of Education (State Board) meeting was held on March 21, 2024, in person, at Buena Vista University in the Mack, Mack, and Mack Board Room, 610 West 4th Street, Storm Lake, Iowa.

State Board members present were John Robbins, Brooke Axiotis, Cindy Dietz, Brian Kane, Mike May, and Mary Meisterling. Cassandra Halls was present via Zoom call from a separate location.

Iowa Department of Education staff members present were: McKenzie Snow, Deborah Elder, Thomas Mayes, Kim Buryanek, Tina Wahlert, Jeremy Varner, Janet Boyd, Maryam Rod Szabo, Amy Gieseke, Barbara Ohlund, Stacie Stokes, April Pforts, Jody Vanderloo, Eric Heitz, Dennis McClain, Steve Ervin, Tana Mullen and Jeremy Anzevino.

State Board Business Meeting

John Robbins called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

The meeting was conducted in person, with remote access information provided in the notice of the meeting.

Motion: Mike May made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to approve the agenda.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Communication

John Robbins announced public comment for 30 minutes.

Public Comment

No Public Comment was made.

Director's Report

Consent Agenda

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Mary Meisterling seconded to approve the consent agenda.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Strategic Planning, Vision and Mission, Goals and Outcomes

Motion: Mary Meisterling made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to approve the Strategic Plan, Vision and Mission, Goals and Outcomes.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Revision of Iowa Academic Standards for Mathematics - First Read

Jody Vanderloo, Education Program Consultant and April Pforts, Education Program Consultant, both from the Bureau of Learner Strategies and Supports (Learning and Results), presented the revision of Iowa's academic standards for mathematics.

Rules, Chapter 21 and 24

Motion: Cindy Dietz made a motion and Brian Kane seconded to approve the replacement of Chapter 21 and repeal Chapter 24.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Rules, Chapter 46

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Mike May seconded to amend Chapter 46.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Rules, Chapter 103

Motion: Brooke Axiotis made a motion and Mary Meisterling seconded to amend Chapter 103.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

John Robbins announced a 10-minute break.

Resumed at 10:55.

Appeal Decision #5175, Gilbert Community School District

Thomas Mayes, General Counsel, presented the details of Appeal Decision #5175 and introduced the appellant, Eric Henely. Eric Henely began his appeal brief with thanking the Board for their time and presented his case. John Robbins highlighted to Mr. Henely that he was with us (the Board of Education) last year, and asked him if there was anything different this time versus last time. Mr. Henely made comments.

Thomas Mayes introduced attorney Carrie Weber and Superintendent Christine Trujillo, Gilbert Community School District. Carrie Weber summarized the current status of the appeal.

Thomas Mayes introduced Tyler Eason, the Assistant Attorney General. Tyler Eason briefed the stance from the legal aspect that the decision made by the Administrative Law Judge is final.

John Robbins asked the Board if they would like to discuss in public or closed session. Mr. Henely objected to the Board going into a closed session. John Robbins referred to Thomas Mayes for comment. Thomas Mayes briefed that the Board has the legal authority to go into a closed session.

Brian Kane and Mike May proposed to stay in a public session and John Robbins confirmed the Board will not go into a closed session.

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to adopt the decision of the Administrative Law Judge.

Vote: A roll call vote was taken. Aye: Robbins, Axiotis, Dietz, Meisterling, Halls, May, and Kane. The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Association of Classical Christian Schools (ACCS) Accrediting Agency Application

Motion: Cindy Dietz made a motion and Mike May seconded to approve the application for Association of Classical Christian Schools Accrediting Agency.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Seventh-Day Adventist Schools Accreditation Agency Application

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to deny the approval for the Seventh-Day Adventist Schools Accreditation Agency Application.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Drake University Approval to Offer Teacher Intern Preparation Program

Motion: Mike May made a motion and Brian Kane seconded to approve Drake University to Offer Teacher Intern Preparation Program.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Southwestern Community College Offering New Paraeducator Preparation Generalist Program

Motion: Cindy Dietz made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to approve Southwestern Community College to Offer a Paraeducator Preparation Program.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Prairie Lakes Area Education Agency (AEA) Paraeducator Preparation Substantial Change: Adding Concentration Area

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to approve Prairie Lakes AEA to offer English as a Second Language concentration area.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

John Robbins announced a break for lunch at 12:30 p.m.

Resumed at 1:00 p.m.

Choice Charter Contract Amendment

Motion: Mike May made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to approve the Choice Charter Contract Amendment.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Business Meeting adjourned at 1:37 p.m.

mD

John Robbins President

t

٠,

McKenzie Snow Director