

Minutes State Board of Education November 15, 2023

Brooke Axiotis Vice President Des Moines

Cindy Dietz Cedar Rapids

Cassandra Halls Carlisle

> Brian J. Kane Dubuque

> > Mike May Spirit Lake

Mary Meisterling Cedar Rapids

Nathan Peterson Iowa City

> John Robbins President Iowa Falls

Sophia Van Houten Student Member Ida Grove

> McKenzie Snow Director and Executive Officer

The State Board of Education (State Board) meeting was held on November 15, 2023, in person at the Iowa Department of Education, Grimes State Office Building, 400 E. 14th Street, Des Moines, Iowa.

State Board members present were John Robbins, Brooke Axiotis, Cindy Dietz, Cassandra Halls, Brian Kane, Mike May, and Nathan Peterson.

Iowa Department of Education (Department) staff members present were: McKenzie Snow, Eric St Clair, Heather Doe, Shan Seivert, Kim Buryanek, Tina Wahlert, Jeremy Varner, Earl Whipple, Thomas Mayes, Kimberly Villotti, Janet Boyd, Maryam Rod Szabo, Amy Gieseke, Kassandra Cline, Holli Marolf and Jeremy Anzevino.

State Board Business Meeting

John Robbins called the meeting to order at 9:02 am.

The meeting was conducted in person, with remote access information provided in the notice of meeting.

Motion: Nathan Peterson made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to approve the agenda.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Communication

John Robbins announced public comment for 30 minutes.

Public Comment

No public comment was made.

Director's Report

Consent Agenda

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Brian Kane seconded To approve the consent agenda.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Rules: Chapter 25 - Pathways for Academic Career and Employment

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Cassandra Halls seconded to give notice of intent to amend Chapter 25 - Pathways for Academic Career and Employment.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Rules: Chapter 27 - Training and Economic Development Funds

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to give notice of intent to amend Chapter 27 - Training and Economic Development Funds.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Rules: Chapter 32 - High School Equivalency Diploma

Motion: Mike May made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to give notice of intent to amend Chapter 32 - High School Equivalency Diploma.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Rules: Chapter 35 - Standards for Children's Residential Facilities

Motion: Cindy Dietz made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to give notice of intent to amend Chapter 35 - Standards for Children's Residential Facilities.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Rules: Chapter 36 - Extracurricular Interscholastic Competition

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Nathan Peterson seconded to give notice of intent to amend Chapter 36 - Extracurricular Interscholastic Competition.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Rules: Chapter 37 - Extracurricular Athletic Activity Conference

Motion: Cindy Dietz made a motion and Cassandra Halls seconded to give notice of intent to amend Chapter 37 - Extracurricular Athletic Activity Conference.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Rules: Chapter 48 and 49 - Rescind and reserve Chapter 48 and rescind and replace Chapter 49

Motion: Mike May made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to give notice of intent to rescind and reserve Chapter 48 and rescind and replace Chapter 49.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Rules: Chapter 61 - Iowa Reading Research Center

Motion: Cindy Dietz made a motion and Brian Kane seconded to give notice of intent to amend Chapter 61 - Iowa Reading Research Center.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Rules: Chapter 77 and 79 - Rescind and reserve Chapter 77 and rescind and replace Chapter 79

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Brian Kane seconded to give notice of intent to rescind and reserve Chapter 77 and rescind and replace Chapter 79.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Rules: Chapter 80 - Standards for Paraeducator Preparation

Motion: Cindy Dietz made a motion and Cassandra Halls seconded to give notice of intent to amend Chapter 80 - Standards for Paraeducator Preparation.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Rules: Chapter 83 - Teacher Administrator Quality Programs

Motion: Brooke Axiotis made a motion and Mike Mays seconded to give notice of intent to amend Chapter 83 - Teacher Administrator Quality Programs.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Rules: Chapter 12 - General Accreditation Standards

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Mike May seconded to give notice of intent to amend Chapter 12 - General Accreditation Standards.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Charter and Innovation Zone Schools in Iowa Legislative Report

Motion: Nathan Peterson made a motion and Brian Kane seconded to approve the submission of the Charter and Innovation Zone Schools Legislative Report to the Iowa Legislature in accordance with Iowa Code section 256F.10.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Charter Schools Program Findings and Recommendations Legislative Report

Motion: Cindy Dietz made a motion and Nathan Peterson seconded to approve the submission of the Charter School Legislative Report to the Iowa Legislature in accordance with Iowa Code section 256E.12.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

School Administration Manager (SAM) Authorization Preparation Program Approval

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to award full approval to National SAM Innovation Project to offer its SAM authorization preparation program in Iowa until the next State Board review in academic year 2029-30.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

President of the Board announced lunch at 11:25. Reconvene at 11:55 a.m.

Heartland Area Education Agency (AEA) Paraeducator Preparation Program Approval

Motion: Mike May made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to approve the Heartland Area Education Agency (AEA) Paraeducator Preparation Program through the next review scheduled for the 2030-31 academic year.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Grant Wood Area Education Agency (AEA) Paraeducator Preparation Program Approval

Motion: Cindy Dietz made a motion and Mike May seconded to approve the Grant Wood Area Education Agency (AEA) Paraeducator Preparation Program through the next review scheduled for the 2030-31 academic year.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

2023 Fall Enrollment Iowa Community Colleges

Board Reports

Teacher Pipeline Briefing

School Budget Review Committee Update

The meeting adjourned at 1:15 p.m.

John Robbins President

McKenzie Snow Director