

Minutes State Board of Education February 9, 2023

Brooke Axiotis Des Moines

Rodney Bradley Denison

> Cindy Dietz Cedar Rapids

Cassandra Halls Carlisle

> Brian J. Kane Dubuque

Mary Meisterling Cedar Rapids

> Mike May Spirit Lake

Nathan Peterson lowa City

> John Robbins Iowa Falls

Alaina Whittington Student Member Diagonal

Chad Aldis Director and Executive Officer The State Board of Education (State Board) meeting was held on February 9, 2023, via webinar.

State Board members present were Brooke Axiotis, Rod Bradley, Cindy Dietz, Cassandra Halls, Brian Kane, Nathan Peterson and John Robbins.

Iowa Department of Education (Department) staff members present were Ann Lebo, Shan Seivert, Mark Ford, Jeremy Varner, Earl Whipple, Kim Buryanek, Thomas Mayes, Rachel Bosovich, Heather Doe, Eric St Clair, Kassandra Cline, Eric Heitz, Kimberly Villotti, Barb Guy, Janet Boyd, Kala Shipley, Patricia Townsend, Jim Donoghue, Rachel Kruse, Mary Breyfogle, Tom Deeter, Hannah Walsh-West, Bryan Bauer, Zach Blacksmith, Steve Ervin and Carol McMains.

Also in attendance were: Chris Murphy and Christine Hensley, Concept Schools/Horizon Science Academy Des Moines; Erin Kokemiller; Kim Walsh;

The meeting was conducted via Zoom (webinar), with remote access information provided in the notice of meeting. It is noted that it was impractical to conduct this meeting in person, due to the time commitment and cost for volunteer board members to travel from all areas of the state to be in the same place at the same time for a brief meeting.

State Board Business Meeting

John Robbins called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Brian Kane seconded to approve the meeting agenda.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Communication •

John Robbins made a statement regarding limiting the time of public comment based on the number of speakers.

Public Comment

There was no public comment.

Consent Agenda

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Rod Bradley seconded to approve the consent agenda.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Horizon Science Academy Des Moines Charter School Contract

Thomas Mayes, General Counsel, Kassandra Cline, Chief, Bureau of School Business Operations, Eric Heitz, Administrative Consultant, and Janet Boyd, Consultant, Bureau of School Improvement, presented the Horizon Science Academy Des Moines (Horizon) Charter School contract.

lowa Code 256E established a charter school law, where both local school boards and founding groups may apply to the State Board for approval to establish and operate a charter school. Horizon follows the founding group-state board model.

lowa Administrative Rule Chapter 19 states that in order to operate a charter school for the 2023-2024 school year, applications are due no later than November 1, 2022, and the Horizon application was received prior to the deadline. Department staff have scored the charter school application and attended a public forum with residents, of all which are required components of the application.

On January 12, 2023, the State Board approved the Horizon application. Iowa Administrative Code 256E requires the State Board to approve and sign the contract in 30 days post application approval. Per Iowa Administrative Code 256E.6, subsection 3, each charter school contract shall be signed by the president of the State Board and the president or appropriate officer of the governing body of the founding group.

There was discussion regarding additions, edits, corrections and language changes needed to the contract.

Motion: Brooke Axiotis made a motion and Brian Kane seconded that the State Board approve the Horizon Science Academy Des Moines Charter School contract with the agreed upon changes.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

It was moved by Cassandra Halls and seconded by Brooke Axiotis to adjourn. The motion carried unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 10:27 a.m.

John Røbbins

President

Chad Aldis

Director