# Appendix A: Licensure Requirements for Educational Interpreters in the State of Iowa

#### **Interpreter Licensure**

Every person providing sign language interpreting or transliterating services in lowa must be licensed by examination or a temporary license. According to lowa Administrative Code subrule 281—41.34(3), paragraph d, "interpreting services" includes the following:

- (1) For children who are deaf or hard of hearing oral transliteration services, cued language transliteration services, sign language transliteration and interpreting services, and transcription services, such as communication access real-time translation (CART), C-Print, and TypeWell; and
  - (2) For children who are deaf-blind, special interpreting services.

Information regarding laws and rules can be found on the lowa Department of Public Health's Bureau of Professional Licensure website for the <u>lowa Board of Sign Language Interpreters and Transliterators</u>.

#### Licensure by Examination Verification

Any sign language interpreter who takes the Educational Interpreter Performance Assessment (EIPA) and scores 3.5 or higher or obtains the national interpreter certification (NIC) through the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID) qualifies for "licensure by examination" in Iowa. An interpreter may also qualify to be licensed by examination by passing one of the exams listed in <a href="Iowa Administrative Code chapter 361">Iowa Administrative Code chapter 361</a>. Interpreters may also be licensed by examination in Iowa if they provide proof of interpreter licensure in another state, even if their license by examination in that state is not included in the exam list in chapter 361. The application and requirements can be found on the <a href="Iowa Board of Sign Language Interpreters">Iowa Board of Sign Language Interpreters and Transliterators</a> website.

It is the responsibility of each interpreter to know the licensing requirements and subsequent updates to the requirements.

To verify an interpreter's license standing, visit the Public License Search.

#### **Temporary License**

An applicant issued a temporary license is subject to the same requirements as a licensed interpreter or transliterator, which includes fulfilling all continuing education unit (CEU) requirements. A permanent license holder will mentor the temporary license holder. A temporary license is good for two years from the issue date. The holder can renew one time for a total of four years, provided the renewal is requested for the two years immediately following the initial license period. One will be eligible to apply for a permanent license by achieving a 3.5 on the EIPA or passing another qualifying examination.

## Interpreting With an Inactive License

An individual whose license is inactive continues to hold the privilege of licensure in lowa but cannot practice as an interpreter in lowa until the license is reactivated. A licensee who practices as an interpreter in the state with an inactive license may be subject to disciplinary action by the board, injunctive action pursuant to lowa Code section 147.83, criminal sanctions pursuant to lowa Code section 147.86, and other available legal remedies (lowa Admin. Code r. 645—363).

# **Continuing Education and Renewal**

Before license renewal every two years, the interpreter must complete 40 hours of continuing education. Temporary license holders will be required to obtain 40 hours of CEUs and work with a mentor. Temporary license holders will have two years from their issue date, and permanent license holders will renew on June 30 of every odd-numbered year. Guidelines for these continuing education hours are detailed on the lowa Board of Sign Language Interpreters and Transliterators website.

### **Substitute Interpreter Information**

Any person who interprets or transliterates in lowa must have an active license. However, there is an exception for substitute interpreters in school settings in lowa Code section 154E.4, paragraph d. Any person working as a substitute for a licensed interpreter in an early childhood, elementary, or secondary education setting may work without an active lowa license for up to 30 school days in a calendar year. A day is defined as any portion of the day (whether 10 minutes or 10 hours) spent in the school providing interpretation or transliterating services to a student.