

Computer Science Work Group

April 13, 2021, 3:30-5:00 p.m.

Members Present

Co-Chair Kathleen Kay, Co-Chair Jeff Weld, Wendy Batchelder, Dan Carver, David Collison, Nicole Crain, Samantha Dahlby, Jacquie Drey, Annette Dunn, Linda Fandel, Dan Greteman, Dee Hamlett, Denise Hoag, Wren Hoffman, Doug Jacobson, Joe Murphy, Melissa Pettigrew, Kyle Rector, Ryan Schaap, Ben Schafer, Lance Stonehocker, Robert Stough, Joe Stutting, Beth Townsend, Timothy Urness, Brian Waller

Roll Call

Department of Education Computer Science Consultant Wren Hoffman facilitated the roll call of members.

Welcome/Opening Remarks

Co-Chair Jeff Weld, Governor's STEM Advisory Council Executive Director, welcomed everyone. Dr. Weld reflected upon the journey together thus far, where the Work Group stands today and what today's outcome is anticipated to be. Linda Fandel explained that we tentatively plan to include all of the final recommendations in the report to the legislature. The goal is to have a draft of the report ready for review by the Work Group members no later than mid-June.

Subcommittee Top Recommendations

Wren Hoffman facilitated the presentations of subcommittees' top recommendations. Each subcommittee was asked to rank their top three recommendations. Each subcommittee chair presented their top recommendation and invited input, followed by small group breakout sessions with a goal of narrowing it down to the top three recommendations which will be most profoundly featured in the final report.

Computer Science Education Youth Programming Subcommittee, Doug Jacobson, chair. Members include: Jacquie Drey, Samuel Padilla, Lance Stonehocker

Increase the number of tech-focused summer programs offered in the state

Computer Science Educator Support Subcommittee, Ben Schafer, chair. Members include: Dan Carver, Samantha Dahlby, Dee Hamlett, Denise Hoag, Tim Urness

Create (and fund) a working group consisting of at least one computer science representative from each of the nine Area Education Agencies (AEAs) to collaborate on a cohesive set of learning/professional development opportunities for lowa teachers (with an emphasis on the elementary and middle school levels).

Computer Science Education for the Underserved Subcommittee, Kyle Rector, chair. Members include: Wendy Batchelder, David Collison, Samuel Padilla

Bridge the funding gap in communities with lower socio-economic status.

1. Provide remote instruction to students in districts that do not have the same level of access to quality computer science instruction.



2. Train people who already do technology support for the district to turn around and instruct students.

Computer Science Education Policy Subcommittee, Joe Stutting, chair. Members include: Annette Dunn, David Collison, Ryan Schaap, Ben Schafer

The Iowa Department of Education (DOE) needs to research the best practices around the country in allowing computer science to be used as a flex option credit for graduation. The DOE also needs to ensure the flex credit meets Iowa standards for any credits the course is allowed to flex.

Computer Science Education Promotion Subcommittee, Joe Murphy, chair. Members include: Doug Jacobson, Melissa Pettigrew, Robert Stough

Governor Reynolds issuing a yearly 'Computing Week' (or other more broad-based, techfocused term) proclamation - Near Team

Computer Science Education Work-Based Learning Subcommittee, Beth Townsend, chair. Members include: Nicole Crain, Dan Greteman, Joe Stutting, Melissa Pettigrew

Each K-12 school district will have access to a Worked-Based Learning (WBL) Coordinator (either shared or individual) supported by a clear, sustainable funding source beyond the operational sharing provision in the state's school finance formula because that provision will not meet this need in all 327 districts.

Sub-Recommendation: Work-Based Learning Coordinators should help ensure all WBL experiences will contain some IT component regardless of the industry or occupation because most jobs currently available require some computer science knowledge and skills and this will surely only increase in the future.

Summation and Next Steps

Co-Chair Kathy Kay, Principal Financial Senior Vice President and CIO, reminded the group that all of the top six recommendations will be made available in the report, with a focus on the top three which the Work Group believes will have the most impact.

At the next meeting the Work Group will be finalizing everything for the submission to the legislature.

Meeting adjourned at 4:53 p.m.

Next Meeting

May 11, 2021, 3:30-5:00 p.m.