SCHOOL BUDGET REVIEW COMMITTEE SUMMARY OF ACTION October 13, 2020

The School Budget Review Committee held hearings beginning at 9:00 a.m. on Tuesday, October 13, 2020, at the Department of Education, State Board Room, Second Floor, Grimes State Office Building, 400 E. 14th St., Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0146. Members of the Committee consist of the following: Director Ann Lebo, Department of Education, Director Dave Roederer, Department of Management, and public members: Leland Tack, Gretchen Tegeler, Keith England, and Mary Jo Hainstock. The director of the Department of Education is a nonvoting member and the chair.

All decisions by the Committee shall be made in accordance with reasonable and uniform policies which shall be consistent with chapter 257. All such policies of general application shall be stated in rules adopted in accordance with chapter 17A. The Committee shall take into account the intent of chapter 257 to equalize educational opportunity, to provide a good education for all the children of Iowa, to provide property tax relief, to decrease the percentage of school costs paid from property taxes, and to provide reasonable control of school costs. The Committee shall also take into account the amount of funds available (257.31(10)). The SBRC shall review a school district's unexpended fund balance prior to any decision regarding unusual finance circumstances. The SBRC shall review a school district's unspent balance prior to any decision to increase modified supplemental amount under subsection 257.31(5).

1. Committee Informational Item

<u>A. Cash Reserve Levy</u>. The Committee reviewed the final listing of districts levying for the cash reserve authorized in Iowa Code section 298.10. This was an update to the cash reserve levy limit list discussed during the March 2020 hearing. Of 327 districts, 125 were unable to levy for cash reserve. Of the 198 districts levying for cash reserve, 77 did so at the maximum allowed level. Four districts had the ability to levy but did not levy.

<u>B. Verification of MSA Usage.</u> The Committee reviewed the list of districts whose requests for modified supplemental amount in FY20 was granted based on anticipated costs. Each of the two districts provided the necessary verification to determine the amount granted was utilized for the intended purpose and therefore no adjustment is necessary.

2. Late Filers of CAR, SES, or Transportation Reports

The Committee directed the districts and AEAs to file all future CAR, SES, and ATR in the manner and by the date prescribed by the Department of Education, including extensions granted for unusual circumstances that meet the definition of good cause. The date prescribed is September 15 following the close of the fiscal year.

The Committee also required each district or AEA that did not certify its COA, SES, or ATR by September 15, or by the extended due date if applicable, to appear before the committee at its regular session in December following the close of the fiscal year to present the procedures that the district or AEA will implement to prevent late filing of the Certified Annual Report (CAR), special education supplement (SES), and annual transportation report (ATR) in all future years.

These districts or AEAs are:

- Wayne
- Colo NESCO
- 3. Reorganization Progress Reports. The Committee accepted the reports of progress toward reorganization submitted by the whole grade sharing districts listed in the exhibit for recommended approval and to allow those districts to request supplementary weighting for whole grade sharing on their October 1, 2020 certified supplementary weighting enrollment for eligible resident students.
- 4. Transfer request due to COVID-19. The Committee approved fund transfer requests for the 2020-2021 fiscal year based on the district's response to the COVID-19 pandemic.
- 5. Norwalk Community School District. The Committee approved modified supplemental amount for the 2020-2021 fiscal year in the amount of \$91,088.12 for environmental hazard abatement:
- 6. Hudson Community School District. The Committee approved modified supplemental amount for the 2020-2021 school year in the amount of \$14,042 for environmental hazard abatement.
- 7. Ankeny Community School District. The Committee approved modified supplemental amount for the 2020-2021 school year in the amount of \$905,853.42 for initial staffing costs related to opening a new building.