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I. Collaborating with Community Partners 
A. Faith-Based Partners 

1. Can a district contract with a faith-based agency to provide the 
SWVPP? 

a) Yes, school districts may partner with a faith-based religious preschool for the 
provision of SWVPP as long as the faith-based agency meets the requirements of 
281--Iowa Administrative Code 16, is located within the school district boundaries 
and as long as the SWVPP funding supports instruction that is "secular, neutral, 
and non-ideological.” 

 
All faith-based partners must ensure that, from the time instruction supported by 
Statewide Voluntary Preschool Program funds starts until the time such instruction 
ends, no religious instruction takes place. There is to be no interruption (no 
“sprinkling”) of such religious instructional time for any faith-based purpose. An 
arrangement with a faith-based entity or organization to provide Statewide 
Voluntary Preschool Programming shall not violate the following: 

 
● First Amendment's Free Exercise Clause (i.e., a child is not compelled to 

participate in any religious instruction or activity); 
● First Amendment's Establishment Clause (i.e., public funds are not used to 

support religious instruction). 

Pursuant to Article I, Section 3 of the Iowa Constitution, religious instruction is 
restricted during the time that is funded through state dollars: “The general 
assembly shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting 
the free exercise thereof; nor shall any person be compelled to attend any place of 
worship, pay tithes, taxes, or other rates for building or repairing places of worship, 
or the maintenance of any minister, or ministry. 

  

http://www.legis.iowa.gov/DOCS/ACO/IAC/LINC/Chapter.281.16.pdf
http://www.legis.iowa.gov/DOCS/ACO/IAC/LINC/Chapter.281.16.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/icnst/402726.pdf
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B. Community Partners 

1. What are the procedures for adding a community partner? 
a) Consider the following:  

● An agreement/28E would need to be developed between the district and 
the partner. See also Q1 under the Partners section of the SWVPP 
Finance FAQ.  

● The new partner would be considered part of the district's program and 
the district would be responsible for ensuring that the new partner meets 
Program Requirements and a set of approved program standards 
immediately upon operation as a SWVPP location. 

● The District would add information about the new partner to the School 
Information Update under EdInfo during the spring prior to the fall that it 
will begin operation as a SWVPP location. This would create a unique 
building ID number for the new partner. 

● In the first fall of the new partner’s operation as a SWVPP location, the 
district would create new sessions in the Preschool Desk Audit-Session 
ID Information under the new SWVPP location. 

● 4-year-old children at the new location would be included in the district's 
fall certified enrollment count/the district’s fall Student Reporting in Iowa 
file. 

● No tuition may be charged for SWVPP instructional hours for 4-year-old's, 
including for a community partner’s first year operating as a SWVPP 
location. The district may offer carryover or existing funds to support the 
cost of start-up for the new partner. See also the Expanding Capacity 
section of the SWVPP Finance FAQ. If the district is interested in using a 
Flexibility Account to support start-up costs at the community partner, see 
also the Flexibility Legislation Guidance on the General Fund web page or 
contact Tom Cooley (tom.cooley@iowa.gov). 

Either the new partner will need to begin a subscription with GOLD or, if the partner 
will be under the district's GOLD license, a new site and enough child portfolios will 
need to be added to the district's license to account for the children who will attend 
the new partner location (based on the agreement with the district). See pp. 2-3 of 
the Iowa GOLD Procedures for more information or contact Mary Breyfogle 
(mary.breyfogle@iowa.gov). 

2. May a school district change the community partners identified in 
their application? 

a) A district may add community partners; however, all programs must meet the 
assurances and requirements of 281--Iowa Administrative Code 16. It is expected 
that districts maintain partnerships established at the time of the original 
application. If a partnership is unable to be maintained, the district is to document 
the multiple attempts made to maintain the relationship. 

  

https://educateiowa.gov/sites/files/ed/documents/SWVPPFinanceFAQ-August2018_0.pdf
https://educateiowa.gov/sites/files/ed/documents/SWVPPFinanceFAQ-August2018_0.pdf
https://eduvision.tv/l?eAOgLR
https://educateiowa.gov/sites/files/ed/documents/SWVPPFinanceFAQ-August2018_0.pdf
https://educateiowa.gov/pk-12/school-business-finance/levies-funds/general-fund#Flexibility_Account
https://educateiowa.gov/documents/levies-and-funds/2018/01/flexibility-legislation-guidance
https://educateiowa.gov/pk-12/school-business-finance/levies-funds/general-fund
mailto:tom.cooley@iowa.gov
https://educateiowa.gov/sites/files/ed/documents/Iowa%20GOLD%20Online%20Procedures%20Feb2018.pdf
mailto:mary.breyfogle@iowa.gov
http://www.legis.iowa.gov/DOCS/ACO/IAC/LINC/Chapter.281.16.pdf
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3. Does a community partner need to be located within the district 
boundaries in order to collaborate to provide the SWVPP? 

a) Yes, a community partner (private preschool/child care center, faith-based 
preschool or accredited nonpublic school) must be located within the district 
boundaries in order to participate with the district in the provision of the SWVPP. 

4. When additional preschool programs (community or district-based) 
are added as part of the district’s SWVPP, what is the period for 
meeting program requirements? 

a) Newly added classrooms (community or district-based) are expected to meet the 
same assurances, and requirements as the programs included in the district’s 
original application.  Districts are encouraged to maintain and expand their 
community partnerships to increase access to quality preschool programs and to 
meet the needs of the community. As community partnerships increase, additional 
preschool programs will have their children counted as part of the Certified 
Enrollment to generate SWVPP funds for the subsequent year. 

For example, if a district adds a preschool program in their second year, the 
program must immediately meet program standards, have a certified teacher, and 
meet all of the requirements and assurances of 281--Iowa Administrative Code 16 
if the district plans to count the children in this program on the Certified Enrollment 
count which must be certified by October 15. This would be the same as a district 
adding a section of first grade; they would meet the district requirements for a 
certified teacher and other requirements expected of an accredited school district. 

II. Enrollment/Eligibility 
A. Eligible Child for SWVPP 

1. Who is eligible to participate in SWVPP? 
a) A child may participate in the preschool program if s/he: 

● Is a resident of Iowa; and 
● Is four years of age on or before September 15 of the current school year. 
● If space and funding are available, a child younger or older may participate; 

however, the child shall not be counted for state funding purposes. 

Note: Children on an instructional service IEP may be included as part of a 
SWVPP but will not generate SWVPP funding. 

256C.3(1), 256C.4.(2), Finance FAQ for the SWVPP 
  

http://www.legis.iowa.gov/DOCS/ACO/IAC/LINC/Chapter.281.16.pdf
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2. Does the preschool program need to be available for children with 
special needs? 

a) Yes. Federal guidelines (Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act or 
IDEA-2004) require the Least Restrictive Environment (LRE) to be considered for 
every child eligible for special education services. The child may attend the 
preschool program, and would be included in the staff to child ratio and maximum 
class size, but would not be funded through the SWVPP (supporting funds would 
be provided through IDEA). 

256C.3(3)d., 281--16.3(13) 

3. Are children on a support only IEP considered to be eligible 
children? 

a) Yes. Children on a support only IEP are considered to be eligible children for the 
SWVPP. If they are four-years-old on or before September 15 they will generate 
SWVPP funding. Support only services would include speech, occupational, or 
physical therapy, etc. 

4. What should a district do if there are more families of four-year-old 
children wanting SWVPP and the district does not have room? Is the 
district obligated to start an additional preschool program? 

a) No. The district is not required to begin an additional preschool program; this is a 
local decision. Developing guidelines for registration and enrollment of four-year-
olds for the preschool program would be a decision of the district with the 
advisement of the local advisory group. In addition, a district may use carry over 
funds to expand the program within the district or through community partnerships 
in an effort to address the waiting list. 

B. Resident District 

1. Does the child have to reside in the district that provides the 
preschool program? 

a) No. An eligible child may attend preschool in any district providing SWVPP. 

281--16.15, 281--16.11(1)a. 

2. Does open enrollment apply to the SWVPP? 
a) Open enrollment would only apply to three to five year olds in the PK grade level 

with an instructional IEP. All other preschool eligible children may attend SWVPP 
in any district providing the program. 

 
281--16.15, 281--16.11(1)a. 

  

https://www.educateiowa.gov/pk-12/early-childhood/statewide-voluntary-preschool-program-four-year-old-children#Awarded_Applicants
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3. If a district does not have the space available to serve all children, 
may a district give priority to children who reside in the district (vs. 
children who reside in other districts)? 

a) This is a local district decision. It is recommended that the school board and the 
advisory committee review eligibility and selection criteria for registration and 
enrollment. This policy should be available to families interested in the program. 

 
Iowa’s Administrative Rules define an eligible child as a resident of Iowa and who 
is four-years-old on or by September 15 of the current school year. The SWVPP 
funding follows the child, regardless of the resident district. 

4. Is the SWVPP voluntary for districts and families? 
a) A district is not required to develop a preschool program. If a district chooses to 

offer a SWVPP, the district agrees to accept funds and provide programing and 
services to enrolled children. Families are not required to participate (enroll) in a 
preschool program. State law does not require preschool participation. However, 
children shall be considered to be of compulsory attendance age once enrolled. 

256C.2, 256C.3(4)d. 

III. Assurances and Requirements 
A. Approved Local Program 

1. Who is responsible for ensuring program requirements and 
assurances are met throughout the local program (inclusive of 
community partners)? 

a) The District receives approval from the Department of Education to provide the 
Statewide Voluntary Preschool Program (SWVPP) and is responsible for oversight 
of the program. The district should have agreements outlining requirements and 
mutually agreed upon expectations with any community partners to provide the 
SWVPP. Community partners are considered part of the district's program and the 
district is responsible for ensuring that each partner meets program requirements 
and a set of approved program standards immediately upon operation as a 
SWVPP location. 
 

256C.1(1), 256C.3(4)b. 
  

https://www.educateiowa.gov/sites/files/ed/documents/2013-05-06%20Compulsory%20Attendance%20for%205-year-old%20Students.pdf
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B. Program Standards 

1. What are the appropriate program standards for the SWVPP? 
a) Three options for program standards include Head Start Program Performance 

Standards (HSPPS), Iowa Quality Preschool Program Standards (IQPPS) and the 
National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) Early Learning 
Program Accreditation Standards and Assessment Items. Each classroom must 
follow one of the three approved sets of program standards. More than one set of 
program standards may be followed across the District’s program. For example, if 
the district partners with a Head Start program, the Head Start program must follow 
HSPPS, while a district building preschool may select to follow Iowa Quality 
Preschool Program Standards. Classrooms following HSPPS should include Head 
Start eligible and funded students.  

256C.3(3)b., 281--16.3 

2. Is a private provider contracting with the school district required to 
adopt the same program standards as the school district? 

a) This is not a requirement but a collaborative decision made at the local level. One 
of the three (3) program standards options must be in place. 

256C.3(3)b., 281--16.3 

C. Maximum Number of Children 

1. What is the maximum number of children that can be in an SWVPP 
classroom? 

a) There may be no more than 20 children in a classroom with adequate space 
available (must have a minimum of 35 square feet of usable space per child). 
Districts are encouraged to plan for children on IEPs who may be integrated in the 
classroom at a later date. Children on IEPs are included in the total group size for 
the classroom. 

256C.3(3)a., 281--16.3(3) 

2. May the district have more than 20 children in the session if there are 
additional adults? 

a) No, there may be no more than 20 children in a session. 

256C.3(3)a., 281--16.3(3) 

3. What is the maximum class size if there are 3-year-old children in the 
classroom? 

a) If the majority of children are 3 years of age, the ratio and maximum number of 
children are determined by the program standard locally selected.  

 
281--16.3 
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D. Adult to Child Ratio 

1. What are the adult to child ratios? 
a) There must be a minimum of one appropriately licensed teacher present during 

SWVPP instructional time. A minimum of one appropriately licensed teacher and 
one staff member shall be present when 11 to 20 four-year-old children are 
present. Staff members shall have reasonable line-of-sight supervision of all 
children. If the majority of children are 3-years-old, the ratio would be determined 
by the program standard locally selected. 

 
256C.3(3)a., 281—16.3(2), 281—16.3(4), 281--16.9(5)b. 

E. Calendar/Instructional Time 

1. What is acceptable instructional time? 
a) A minimum of 10 hours per week of instructional time is required in the SWVPP. 

The teacher should provide instruction on the skills and knowledge included in the 
Iowa Early Learning Standards, and directly related to the program’s locally 
determined curriculum. Instructional time should relate to intentional, planned 
teaching and learning experiences that would be reflected in the teacher’s planning 
and lessons. 
 

256C.3(3)f., 281--16.3(4) 

2. Is the preschool start date the same date as the district’s first day of 
school for K-12? 

a) Districts are encouraged to start their SWVPP within a reasonable time frame 
comparable to their existing school calendar to allow children to benefit from the 
preschool program and learning experiences. In order to accommodate the 
required home visits, districts may choose to start the SWVPP several days later 
than the K-12 start date. 

3. How many days per year does the preschool have to provide 
instruction? 

a) It is recommended that the number of days per year be within the parameters of 
the school calendar days in session. 
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F. Snack and/or Meal 
1. The SWVPP schedule is from 8:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Is there any 

requirement that a meal would need to be provided? 

a) Districts are encouraged to provide a minimum of one meal to children in the 
SWVPP. According to both the National Association for the Education of Young 
Children (NAEYC) Early Learning Program Accreditation Standards and 
Assessment Items and the Iowa Quality Preschool Program Standards, a meal or 
snack must be served. IQPPS Criterion 5.17 states, “The program serves meals 
and snacks at regularly established times. Meals and snacks are at least two hours 
apart, but not more than three hours apart.” Preschool foundation aid funds may be 
used by approved local programs and community providers for food and beverages 
used by children in the approved local program. 

 
256C.4(1)e., 281--16.3(11), 281--16.3 

G. Teacher Requirements 
1. Who employs the teacher? 

a) The district may employ the teacher or contract with another agency to provide 
instruction to children in a variety of settings. No matter whether the district 
employs the teacher or contracts with another agency for the services of a qualified 
preschool teacher, the district has the responsibility to ensure that all teachers 
meet the requirements of Iowa Code chapter 256c and IAC 281-16 Statewide 
Voluntary Preschool Program Administrative Rules. 

 
256C.3(2)a.1., 281--16.2(Teacher), 281--16.9(5)a. 
 
2. What qualifications does the SWVPP teacher need to have? 

a) Preschool teachers must hold a valid practitioner’s license issued by the Board of 
Educational Examiners under Iowa Code chapter 272 and hold endorsement from 
the Board of Educational Examiners that includes prekindergarten. There is no 
requirement that the teacher be an employee of the district; a private provider or 
other public agency with whom the district has entered into an agreement or 
contract under Iowa Code chapter 28E may employ the teacher. Contact the Board 
of Educational Examiners for specific teacher information. 

 
Appropriate teaching endorsements are: 

● Teacher Endorsement #100 -- Prekindergarten through grade three, 
including special education; 

● Teacher Endorsement #103  – Prekindergarten through kindergarten; 
● Teacher Endorsement #106 – Prekindergarten through grade three; or 
● Teacher Endorsement #1001 – Birth through grade three inclusive 

settings. 

A Class B conditional license is also an appropriate license if it is for Birth through 
grade three inclusive settings or PK-K. If teachers do not hold one of these 
endorsements, they should apply to BOEE for a conditional license. 

http://www.legis.iowa.gov/DOCS/ACO/IC/LINC/Chapter.256c.pdf
http://www.boee.iowa.gov/
http://www.boee.iowa.gov/
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Note: A teacher who has an Early Childhood Teacher – Special Education 15.2 
(19) endorsement (also known as #223/#262) is not appropriately licensed to 
teach in the SWVPP because the endorsement does not include preschool 
general education. The teacher may apply to the Board of Educational Examiners 
for a Class B conditional license in one of the acceptable teaching endorsement 
areas listed above. 

256C.3(2), 281--16.2, 281--16.3(1) 
 

3. If a district contracts with another agency to provide the SWVPP, is 
the district required to evaluate the teacher? Does Chapter 284 
apply? 

a) The district is responsible to evaluate only district employees. If a district does not 
employ the teacher but instead contracts or develops an agreement with another 
agency to provide the preschool teacher, that agency is responsible for the 
supervision and evaluation of the teacher. In the latter situation, Chapter 284 does 
not apply. The district is not required to evaluate a teacher employed by a 
community partner. 

4. If the teacher is an employee of the school district, who evaluates the 
teacher? 

a) The district employee with an Evaluator Endorsement through the Board of 
Educational Examiners evaluates the teacher employed by the district, regardless 
of where instruction is provided. 

 
Iowa Code 284.2(5); 281—83.2; Iowa Code 284.8(1); 83.5(3) 

5. If the community partner employs and evaluates the teacher, is the 
supervisor required to hold an Evaluator Endorsement from the 
Board of Educational Examiners? 

a) It is not a requirement of the community partner supervisor evaluating the teacher 
to hold an Evaluator Endorsement from the Board of Educational Examiners. 

 
281--83.2 
 
6. What are the requirements for a preschool teacher who is not 

employed by a school district to convert the initial license to a 
standard license? 

a) The teacher should contact the Board of Educational Examiners for information on 
license conversion. 

  

http://www.boee.iowa.gov/
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7. What collaboration responsibilities does the teacher have? 

a) The teacher must: 
● Collaborate with other partners as necessary. Partners may include family 

support/parent education staff, community childcare, Early Childhood Iowa, 
Head Start, Shared Visions, and others as necessary to meet the needs of the 
child and family. 

● Develop and maintain a relationship with the child’s family in order to support 
the success of children and their families to reach desired results. 

● Assist families to identify and access available resources to meet the needs 
of the child. 

 
256C.3(3)e., 281--16.4 

H. Staff Development 
1. Are districts required to provide staff development to SWVPP 

teachers? 

a) Yes, districts shall ensure appropriate staff development is provided to district 
SWVPP teachers as addressed in the career development plan. Staff 
development must be specific to early childhood and must be offered to 
community partner teachers. 

 
256C.3(4)d., 281--16.3(8) 
 
2. How many hours of staff development should a district make 

available? 

a) It is recommended that the district provide a minimum of 15 hours per year of staff 
development. This is consistent with recommendations from the National Institute 
for Early Education Research.  

Professional development hours must be offered in addition to the minimally 
required instructional hours. The schedule of instructional hours should account 
for weeks in which professional development is also scheduled, so that the 
minimum instructional hours requirement would still be met in weeks in which 
professional development hours are offered. An example would be planning to 
offer 12 instructional hours weekly across MWF; then, if PD is offered once or 
twice a month on a Wednesday as a two-hour early out, the 10-hour weekly 
minimum could still be addressed. 

3. Are teacher assistants in the SWVPP required to participate in staff 
development? 

a) Yes, the district must ensure that all district SWVPP staff receive appropriate staff 
development in early childhood education. The school district shall ensure that 
staff members for the program are provided appropriate staff development in early 
childhood education. 

 
281--16.3(8) 

http://nieer.org/
http://nieer.org/
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I. Curriculum 

1. What are the curriculum requirements for the SWVPP? 
a) Not all SWVPP classrooms are required to use the same curriculum. A district 

must use a curriculum with a research or evidence-based written framework that 
is comprehensive, addresses the needs of the whole child, and provides a guide 
for decision making about content, instructional methods, and assessment. 
Examples include, but are not limited to, Creative Curriculum and High Scope. 

 
The curriculum also must meet the identified program standards (National 
Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) Early Learning 
Program Accreditation Standards and Assessment Items, Iowa’s Quality 
Preschool Program Standards, or Head Start Program Performance Standards), 
and must align with the Iowa Early Learning Standards. The benefits of districts 
using the same curriculum across all preschool classrooms include teachers 
working together to align instruction with the Iowa Early Learning Standards, 
planning for instruction, and attending cohesive professional development to 
enhance teaching and learning. 

256C.3(3)c., 281--16.3(5), 281--16.3(6) 

2. What does research or evidence-based mean? 
a) Research-based means there are theories behind it, but that they are not always 

proven true. Evidence-based means there is evidence to back it up. The Every 
Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) definition of “evidence-based” includes four levels 
of evidence. The first three levels require findings of a statistically significant 
effect on improving student outcomes or other relevant outcomes based on 
different types of studies. The fourth level addresses ideas that do not yet have 
an evidence base; these are considered “under evaluation” based on ongoing 
efforts to examine the effects. 

 
Results Matter (2017, June). 9 Ways to Make Federal Legislation Evidence-Based. Retrieved from:  
http://results4america.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/9-Ways-to-Make-Federal-Legislation-
Evidence-Based-2017-What-Works-Guide-for-Congress.pdf. 

J. Assessment 
1. What are the assessment requirements? 

a) Districts are required to assess all preschool children with the GOLD online 
assessment and maintain local agreements with Teaching Strategies under 
Iowa’s GOLD State Umbrella Agreement. Iowa Code 279.60 was amended in 
2013 to include the MyTeachingStrategies GOLD assessment for every resident 
prekindergarten or four-year-old child whose parent or guardian enrolls the child 
in the district. This includes any preschool-aged child enrolled by a parent in a 
district program. Examples include four-year old, and mixed age classrooms, as 
well as those in which a child receives early childhood special education 
services. It also includes any community based early childhood program that 
receives Statewide Voluntary Preschool Program funding. 

http://results4america.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/9-Ways-to-Make-Federal-Legislation-Evidence-Based-2017-What-Works-Guide-for-Congress.pdf
http://results4america.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/9-Ways-to-Make-Federal-Legislation-Evidence-Based-2017-What-Works-Guide-for-Congress.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/279.60.pdf


 

12 | P a g e  

 

 

K. Families 
1. Do families need to be involved in SWVPP programming? 

a) Yes, family participation is vital to their child’s preschool success. The SWVPP 
must involve families in at least one home visit, one family night, and a minimum 
of two family-teacher conferences annually. Family involvement may include 
volunteering in the classroom, orientation to the preschool program, parent 
education, general communications, and other activities. 

281-16.3(12), 256C.3(3)g. 
2. What are the requirements for Family Night? 

a) This is a local decision that should be made with the input from the local advisory 
group, including parents if possible. It is not recommended that districts use 
Open House or Meet the Teacher events to meet this requirement. Some ideas 
may include events such as Family Literacy Night, Family Math Game Night, 
Family Art Project Night, cookie-decorating night, a literacy tea party, a family 
picnic, etc. Ideas may be generated based on input from the advisory group and 
specific to the needs of local communities. 

3. Does the home visit need to take place in the home? 

a) It is the expectation that the home visit occurs in the home. It is intended for the 
teacher to meet the child and family in a familiar environment so the child has a 
comfortable adjustment to the school. The home visit provides an opportunity for 
the teacher to become acquainted with and learn from the family about its family 
structure, preferred child-rearing practices, and information families wish to share 
about their socioeconomic, linguistic, racial, religious, and cultural backgrounds. 
The visit provides an opportunity for staff to learn about the family’s priorities and 
hopes for their child. It also provides an opportunity to learn about the child within 
the family context. 

 
If a family expresses a preference to meet at an alternate location for the home 
visit, this request should be honored. With the prior reviewed purposes in mind, 
the school setting is not the preferred setting for conversation and learning about 
the child and family. The home visit should occur in a setting in which the family 
is comfortable or a neutral location may be considered such as a library, coffee 
house, or a park. School districts also need to ensure the safety of their staff in 
determining the location and timing of the home visit. 
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4. The rules require that a teacher make a home visit at least once a 
year – can this be combined with a conference at the school? 

a) No, conferences are a time for teachers and families to discuss the preschool 
program and the child’s learning and progress. The purpose of the home visit is 
to help the teacher learn about the child and the family. The location should be 
where the family is comfortable; this could be the home, the public library, a 
coffee shop; but preferably not the school setting. The focus of the home visit is 
to share information, and allow the teacher to understand the child within the 
context of their family. See question 3 above. 

5. Is a district required to develop a parent handbook for the SWVPP? 

a) It is recommended that the district and community partners develop a common 
parent handbook for the SWVPP. A parent handbook is helpful in providing 
information about the preschool program as well as clarifying roles and 
responsibilities for families and the district. Districts may consider how their 
current parent handbook may be edited to include the necessary elements to 
address the SWVPP and the adopted program standard. 

IV. Transportation 
A. Bussing 

1. Do school buses need to have safety restraints for four-year-olds? 
a) The DE provides guidance regarding the safe transportation of children. See the 

Transportation Guidance web page for information on transportation. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For additional questions about the Statewide Voluntary Preschool Program, contact Jennifer 
Adkins (jennifer.adkins@iowa.gov) or 515-954-5652 or Mary Breyfogle 
(mary.breyfogle@iowa.gov) or 515-326-1030.  

https://www.educateiowa.gov/pk-12/school-transportation/transportation-guidance
mailto:jennifer.adkins@iowa.gov
mailto:mary.breyfogle@iowa.gov
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