College and Career Transition Counselor Initiative

Purpose Overview

As lowa continues to prepare high school students to be college and career ready it has become increasingly evident that students need additional support of career awareness, exploration and training. Iowa's current College and Career Transitions Counselor (CCTC) model has helped provide high school juniors and seniors with the additional career-based services needed to be successful after high school graduation along with reducing barriers and expanding access to career and academic opportunities for students.



Model

The College and Career Transition Counselor program started in Iowa in 2017 as a partnership among Eastern Iowa Community College, Louisa Muscatine, and Columbus Community Schools, with Mississippi Bend AEA providing support through its Future Ready division. For the 2024-2025 school year, over 55 CCTCs will be housed in all 15 of Iowa's community colleges and will support students in over 100 Iowa high schools.

CCTCs work directly through the community college and secondary schools to support college transition and career exploration through targeted connections with students and families during crucial time frames, including preparation, transition to enrollment and persistence through their postsecondary experience. The CCTCs work closely with students in grades 11 and 12 in partner high schools, throughout the summer after high school graduation and as part of the first-year support system for students coming out of this program at the coordinating community college. The positions are hosted at the community college and partner with at least one school district.

The College and Career Transitions Counselors work as a liaison between the community college and secondary schools to ensure students are supported in their career exploration and receive proper assistance in transitioning into additional training which can include apprenticeships, military opportunities, two-year colleges, four-year colleges and the world of work. CCTCs provide additional targeted support to school counseling programs in the college and career domain and work with a variety of stakeholders, including concurrent enrollment partners and work-based learning coordinators. Currently, the preferred education requirement for a CCTC is a master's degree with a license or endorsement in school counseling, followed by a related master's with a minimum requirement of a bachelor's degree.

For more information, the <u>College and Career Transition webpage</u> is available on the Iowa Department of Education's website.

Current Partnerships

Community College	High School Partnership Participants
Des Moines Area (DMACC) – 13 CCTCs	 Ankeny HS and Ankeny Centennial Adel-Desoto-Minburn Ames and Collins Maxwell Boone and Ogden Colo Nesco and Ballard Des Moines Public (East, Hoover, Lincoln, North, Roosevelt) Earlham and Panorama Interstate 35 and Van Meter Johnston and West Des Moines Valley Knoxville and PCM North Polk and Bondurant Southeast Polk Waukee NW and Waukee High
Eastern Iowa (EICC) – 8 CCTCs	 Bellevue and Maquoketa Calamus-Wheatland Secondary Attendance Center and Central DeWitt Camanche and Northeast Middle/High School Clinton and Easton Valley Columbus and Louisa-Muscatine Jr/Sr Muscatine North Scott and Durant West Liberty and Wilton
Hawkeye – 2 CCTCs	Aplington-ParkersburgIndependence
Iowa Central – 6 CCTCs	 Alta-Aurelia, St. Mary's (Storm Lake) and Storm Lake Clarion-Goldfield-Dows, South Hamilton and Webster City Eagle Grove, Manson NW Webster and South Central Calhoun East Sac, Green County, Paton Churdan and Humboldt Fort Dodge and St. Edmonds Newell-Fonda, Pocahontas and Sioux Central
Indian Hills – 6 CCTCs	 Centerville and Moravia Davis County, Moulton-Udell and Ottumwa Alternative High School Oskaloosa and North Mahaska Ottumwa High School (2 positions) Cardinal and Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont
Iowa Lakes – 2 CCTCs	Algona and EmmetsburgEstherville Lincoln and Okoboji High and Spencer
Iowa Valley – 1 CCTC	East Marshall and Grinnell
Iowa Western – 3 CCTCs	 Avoca, Riverside, Treynor and Underwood Logan Magnolia, Missouri Valley, Tri-Center and West Harrison Harlan, Lewis Central and Woodbine

Community College	High School Partnership Participants
Kirkwood – 6 CCTCs	 Cedar Rapids Washington Cedar Rapids Jefferson City High School Linn-Mar Prairie Solon
Northeast – 1 CCTC	Oelwein, Starmount and West Central
Southeastern (SCC) – 1 CCTC	Keokuk
Southwestern (SWICC) – 1 CCTC	Mormon Trail and Clarke
Western Iowa Tech – 1 CCTC	Denison