SCHOOL BUDGET REVIEW COMMITTEE Summary of Action May 3, 2022

The School Budget Review Committee met to hold hearings beginning at 10:00 a.m. on Tuesday, May 3, 2022, at the Department of Education, State Board Room, Second Floor, Grimes State Office Building, 400 E. 14th St., Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0146. Members of the Committee consist of the following: Department of Education Director Ann Lebo, Department of Management Director Kraig Paulsen, and public members: Leland Tack, Susan Battani, Keith England, and Patti Schroeder. The director of the Department of Education is a non-voting member and the chair.

All decisions by the Committee were made in accordance with reasonable and uniform policies which shall be consistent with chapter 257. All such policies of general application shall be stated in rules adopted in accordance with chapter 17A. The Committee shall take into account the intent of chapter 257 to equalize educational opportunity, to provide a good education for all the children of lowa, to provide property tax relief, to decrease the percentage of school costs paid from property taxes, and to provide reasonable control of school costs. The Committee shall also take into account the amount of funds available (257.31(10)). The SBRC shall review a school district's unexpended fund balance prior to any decision regarding unusual finance circumstances. The SBRC shall review a school district's unspent balance prior to any decision to increase modified supplemental amount under subsection 257.31(5).

- Southeast Webster Grand Community School District. Vote unanimously approved for fiscal year 2021-2022 use of the unexpended General Fund for demolition costs incurred within three years of a reorganization in the amount of \$205,299 and an equal amount of modified supplemental amount. Approved for fiscal year 2021-2022 modified supplemental amount of \$55,978 for costs related to staff retention payments for staff not otherwise eligible for the Governor's retention payments, pending receipt of board minutes approving the amount of the request. Aye: Tack, Battani, England, Schroeder; Nay: Paulsen.
- 2. Prairie Valley Community School District. Approved modified supplemental amount for fiscal year 2021-2022 in the amount of \$66,743 for costs related to staff retention payments for staff not otherwise eligible for the Governor's retention payments, pending receipt of board minutes approving the amount of the request. Aye: Tack, Battani, England, Schroeder; Nay: Paulsen.
- 3. Ankeny Community School District. Approved modified supplemental amount for fiscal year 2021-2022 in the amount of \$132,409.50 for costs related to staff retention payments for staff not otherwise eligible for the Governor's retention payments. Aye: Tack, Battani, England, Schroeder; Nay: Paulsen.
- 4. Ballard Community School District. Approved modified supplemental amount for fiscal year 2021-2022 in the amount of \$124,874 for costs related to staff retention payments for staff not otherwise eligible for the Governor's retention payments. Aye: Tack, Battani, England, Schroeder; Nay: Paulsen.
- 5. Baxter Community School District. Approved modified supplemental amount for fiscal year 2021-2022 in the amount of \$32,833.25 for costs related to staff retention payments

- for staff not otherwise eligible for the Governor's retention payments. Aye: Tack, Battani, England, Schroeder; Nay: Paulsen.
- 6. College Community School District. Approved modified supplemental amount for fiscal year 2021-2022 in the amount of \$615,758 for costs related to staff retention payments for staff not otherwise eligible for the Governor's retention payments. Aye: Tack, Battani, England, Schroeder; Nay: Paulsen.
- 7. Council Bluffs Community School District. Approved modified supplemental amount for fiscal year 2021-2022 in the amount of \$34,448 for costs related to staff retention payments for staff not otherwise eligible for the Governor's retention payments, if the payments are made using the unexpended, unobligated General Fund. Aye: Tack, Battani, England, Schroeder; Nay: Paulsen.
- 8. Grinnell-Newburg Community School District. Approved modified supplemental amount for fiscal year 2021-2022 in the amount of \$141,553.69 for costs related to staff retention payments for staff not otherwise eligible for the Governor's retention payments. Aye: Tack, Battani, England, Schroeder; Nay: Paulsen.
- 9. Lawton-Bronson Community School District. Approved modified supplemental amount for fiscal year 2021-2022 in the amount of \$27,500 for costs related to staff retention payments for staff not otherwise eligible for the Governor's retention payments. Aye: Tack, Battani, England, Schroeder; Nay: Paulsen.
- 10. Linn-Mar Community School District. Approved modified supplemental amount for fiscal year 2021-2022 in the amount of \$650,206 for costs related to staff retention payments for staff not otherwise eligible for the Governor's retention payments. Aye: Tack, Battani, England, Schroeder; Nay: Paulsen.