## AEA Juvenile Home Program Claim Instructions Non-Fiscal Data Collection (AEAs Only)

# Due August 1

## Overview

### **Questions**

Jina Brincks, 515-313-5942, jina.brincks@iowa.gov

### **General Information**

- This information is collected per <u>281 IAC 63.19</u>.
- All AEAs that file the juvenile home program claim will do so electronically on the secure data collection web site.
- Report actual numbers; do not estimate, allocate, or prorate.
- Federal and State Law requires the Certified Annual Report (CAR) to be audited during the annual audit by an independent or state auditor. The auditor includes in the audit comments information regarding the accuracy and timeliness of the filing. Claims are part of the CAR for audit purposes.
- The claim submitted and the supporting worksheets should be retained for at least five years after approved during the audit.

# The Data Collection Website

### Location and login

Go to the <u>lowa Education Portal</u>. If you are a new user, choose the option "Enterprise A&A Account Setup and Help" in the bottom half of the screen. If you are a returning user, under the words "A & A Account" in the banner near the top of the screen, choose the "Sign-In" option. Once signed in, under the words "EdInfo" in the banner near the top of the screen, choose "Finance Applications" and then "Juvenile Home". There is a separate tab within the application for the claim data.

### Instructions for Completing the Juvenile Home Program Claim Form Completing and submitting this form constitutes filing and certifying a claim with the State of Iowa.

### Input (Add) Screen

- The facilities should be listed. If a facility needs to be added or deleted, contact Jina Brincks to notify data processing.
- Click the Add to Claim button for each facility. To add information click on the Edit button next to the facility name. Enter the FTE of teachers the AEA provides for that facility. Do not include any teachers whose costs are billed by you to the districts of residence for students served pursuant to an IEP. In determining FTE, utilize an eight-hour day, forty-hour week. If an employee is full-time, utilize a 1.0 for the FTE. If the employee is less than full-time, utilize a decimal to the nearest hundredth (2 decimal places) to represent the employee's FTE. For example, a teacher who works 3 days a week, 24 hours out of 40 hours, would be represented as a 0.60 FTE. Do not add additional FTE for summer session.
- Enter the FTE of aides the AEA provides for that facility. Do not include any aides whose costs are billed by you to the districts of residence of students served pursuant to an IEP. Determine FTE in the same way described for teachers above. Do not add additional FTE for summer session.
- Enter the Average Daily Membership (ADM) of students who meet all of the following criteria: Of school age, Iowa resident has not received a high school diploma or its equivalent (GED), is enrolled

in the AEA's instructional program, and is living in a juvenile home facility located within the AEA. Out-of-state students and students served pursuant to an IEP would be billed to their districts of residence. Do not include the ADM of students for whom the AEA is paid tuition. Round to the nearest hundredth (2 decimal places). Give the ADM for each juvenile home. Calculate ADM for the regular school year <u>without summer session</u>. Average daily membership (ADM) means the average obtained by dividing the aggregate days of attendance for the school year plus the aggregate days of absence by the total number of student contact days (generally 180 days). Student contact days are the days during which the educational program is provided and students are under the guidance and instruction of the instructional professional staff. A student is considered in membership from the date of enrollment in the instructional program until the date of leaving the juvenile home, withdrawing from the educational program, or receiving a high school diploma or its equivalent (GED), whichever occurs first. School age is defined pursuant to lowa Code chapter 282 as a person at least five years of age but not yet twenty-one years of age on September 15 of the school year. Children in pre-kindergarten must be served pursuant to an IEP and therefore would be billed to the resident district and are not included in this ADM calculation.

- Enter the number of continuing classrooms. A continuing classroom is one that was approved at time of budget, and the classroom was in the prior year's budget and claim. A regular year classroom is a 1.0 classroom if the classes are held for a 9-month period, September through May, and taught on a daily, full-time basis. A summer school classroom is counted as .1 for each month of summer school; therefore, a 6-week summer session would be counted as 0.15. Summer session includes the session on or after July 1 and starting after the regular year program, approximately June 1 through June 30. A full school year plus a full summer school session classroom is a maximum of 1.3 FTE.
- Enter the number of new classrooms. A new classroom is one that was approved at time of budget or budget amendment, and the classroom was not in the prior year's budget or claim. Typically, a new classroom results from the expansion of a home, or the opening of a new home.

### To Abort

• To abort the information on the screen, click the **Abandon** button. This will return the main screen without changing the information previously there.

#### To Save

• If the information is correct, click the **Update** button. This will return the main screen with the updated information.

With each save, the form screen will display the following information:

- Facility number and name
- Shelter or detention descriptor.
- Number of teachers.
- Number of Aides.
- Average Daily Membership.
- Number (FTE) of Continuing Classrooms.
- Number (FTE) of New Classrooms.

#### **Certifying**

• After all entries have been reviewed for completeness and accuracy, including contact information, submit the **Juvenile Home Program Claim** by clicking on the **Certify button**. Clicking the **Certify button** on the web based data collection signifies signing the certification form and no further paperwork is necessary. The AEA will not be given credit for having completed its claim until the information has been certified. Once the data have been certified, data can no longer be changed. Data will, however, still be browsable. Certify no later than the due date, which is August 1.