

Minutes State Board of Education May 8, 2025

John Robbins President Iowa Falls

Brooke Axiotis Vice President Des Moines

Cindy Dietz Cedar Rapids

Cassandra Halls Carlisle

> Brian J. Kane Dubuque

Mary Meisterling Cedar Rapids

Grace Bechtel Student Member (non-voting) Lake Mills

Beth Townsend Iowa Workforce Development (non-voting)

> McKenzie Snow Director and Executive Officer

The State Board of Education meeting was held on May 8, 2025, at the Grimes State Office Building, Des Moines, Iowa. The meeting was conducted in person, with remote access information provided in the notice of the meeting.

State Board members present: John Robbins, Brian Kane, Brooke Axiotis, Mary Meisterling, Cindy Dietz, Cassandra Halls, Beth Townsend and Grace Bechtel.

Iowa Department of Education staff members present: McKenzie Snow, Deborah Elder, Tina Wahlert, Eric St Clair, Heather Doe, Thomas Mayes, Sandra Hurtado-Peters, Amy Gieseke, Kassandra Cline, Isbelia Arzola, Kim Villotti, Chris Like, Robin Lillienthal, Stephanie TeKippe, Jennifer Denne, Jillian Dotson, Liza Garcia, Zach Blacksmith and Jeremy Anzevino.

State Board Business Meeting

John Robbins called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to approve the agenda.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

John Robbins announced public comment for 30 minutes.

No public comment was made.

The following reports were provided:

Director's Report, by Director Snow.

Community Colleges Advisory Committee Update, by Cassandra Halls.

Consent Agenda

April 17, 2025 Meeting Minutes

Appeal – Education Savings Account

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Mary Meisterling seconded to approve the consent agenda.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Legislative Report

The matter was discussed.

Kirkwood Interim Accreditation Report

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to grant continued accreditation for Kirkwood Community College.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

University of Northern Iowa Educator Preparation Program Approval

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to approve the University of Northern Iowa educator preparation programs.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

John Robbins announced a 12-minute break.

Approval of Science Standards and Science Essential Elements

Motion: Cindy Dietz made a motion and Brian Kane seconded to approve the Iowa Academics Standards in Science.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Motion: Mary Meisterling made a motion and Cassandra Halls seconded to approve the Science Essential Elements.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

2026 State Board of Education Meeting Calendar

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Cassandra Halls seconded to approve the 2026 State Board of Education meeting calendar.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Empowering Excellence Amendment Request

Motion: Cindy Dietz made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to approve the amendment request.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Overview of Fiscal Year 2026 Certified Budget Approval Summary

The matter was discussed.

Outgoing Teacher of the year Presentation

The matter was discussed.

John Robbins announced a lunch break until 12:47 p.m.

Fiscal Year 2026 Certified Budget Approval – Des Moines Area Community College

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Mary Meisterling seconded to approve the certified budget for Des Moines Area Community College.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Fiscal Year 2026 Certified Budget Approval – Eastern Iowa Community College

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to approve the certified budget for Eastern Iowa Community College.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Fiscal Year 2026 Certified Budget Approval – Kirkwood Community College

Motion: Cindy Dietz made a motion and Brian Kane seconded to approve the certified budget for Kirkwood Community College.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Fiscal Year 2026 Certified Budget Approval – Hawkeye Community College

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to approve the certified budget for Hawkeye Community College.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Fiscal Year 2026 Certified Budget Approval – Indian Hills Community College

Motion: Cindy Dietz made a motion and Mary Meisterling seconded to approve the certified budget for Indian Hills Community College.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Fiscal Year 2026 Certified Budget Approval – Southwestern Community College

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to approve the certified budget for Southwestern Community College.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Fiscal Year 2026 Certified Budget Approval – Iowa Valley Community College

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Brian Kane seconded to approve the certified budget for Iowa Valley Community College.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Fiscal Year 2026 Certified Budget Approval – Iowa Western Community College

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to approve the certified budget for Iowa Western Community College.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

President Robbins announced a 10-minute break.

Fiscal Year 2026 Certified Budget Approval – North Iowa Area Community College

Motion: Brooke Axiotis made a motion and Cassandra Halls seconded to approve the certified budget for North Iowa Area Community College.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Fiscal Year 2026 Certified Budget Approval – Northeast Iowa Community College

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Brian Kane seconded to approve the certified budget for Northeast Iowa Community College.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Fiscal Year 2026 Certified Budget Approval – Northwest Iowa Community College

Motion: Cindy Dietz made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to approve the certified budget for Northwest Iowa Community College.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Fiscal Year 2026 Certified Budget Approval – Southeastern Community College

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Brian Kane seconded to approve the certified budget for Southeastern Community College.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Fiscal Year 2026 Certified Budget Approval – Iowa Lakes Community College

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Mary Meisterling seconded to approve the certified budget for Iowa Lakes Community College.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Fiscal Year 2026 Certified Budget Approval – Western Iowa Tech Community College

Motion: Cindy Dietz made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to approve the certified budget for Western Iowa Tech Community College.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Fiscal Year 2026 Certified Budget Approval – Iowa Central Community College

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to approve the certified budget for Iowa Central Community College.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at 5:07 p.m.

John Robbins President McKenzie Snow
Director