

Minutes State Board of Education April 17, 2025

John Robbins President Iowa Falls

Brooke Axiotis Vice President Des Moines

Cindy Dietz Cedar Rapids

Cassandra Halls
Carlisle

Brian J. Kane Dubuque

Mary Meisterling Cedar Rapids

Michael McClelland Student Member (non-voting) Truro

Beth Townsend lowa Workforce Development (non-voting)

> McKenzie Snow Director and Executive Officer

The State Board of Education meeting was held on April 17, 2025, at Kirkwood Community College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. The meeting was conducted in person, with remote access information provided in the notice of the meeting.

State Board members present: John Robbins, Brian Kane, Brooke Axiotis, Mary Meisterling, Cindy Dietz, Cassandra Halls, and Michael McClelland.

Iowa Department of Education staff members present: McKenzie Snow, Deborah Elder, Heather Doe, Thomas Mayes, Tina Wahlert, Amy Gieseke, Vlad Bassis, Maryam Rod Szabo, Stefanie Wager, Christopher Like, Jay Pennington, Tana Mullen, Liza Garcia and Jeremy Anzevino.

State Board Business Meeting

John Robbins called the meeting to order at 9:01 a.m.

Motion: Mary Meisterling made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to approve the agenda.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

John Robbins announced public comment for 30 minutes.

Melissa Koch made a public comment.

The following report was provided:

Director's Report, by Director Snow.

Consent Agenda

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to approve the consent agenda.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Rules: Chapter 19 - Charter Schools

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to give notice of its intent to amend Chapter 19.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Rules: Chapter 46 – Career and Technical Education

Motion: Cindy Dietz made a motion and Cassandra Halls seconded to give notice of its intent to amend Chapter 46.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Condition of Education Report

The matter was discussed.

President Robbins announced a 10-minute break.

Annual Condition of Community Colleges Report

The matter was discussed.

Iowa Statewide Assessment of Student Progress Changes to the Newly Adopted Standards

The matter was discussed.

First Reading of Revised Science Standards

The matter was discussed.

John Robbins announced a lunch break until 1:14 p.m.

Board Training – Cybersecurity

The matter was discussed.

Coe College Educator Preparation Program Approval

Motion: Mary Meisterling made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to approve the Coe College Educator Preparation Program.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Empowering Excellence Amendment Request

Motion: Brooke Axiotis made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to approve the Empowering Excellence Amendment Request.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Student Board Member Michael McClelland Outgoing Presentation

The matter was discussed.

Meeting adjourned at 2:45 p.m.

John Robbins President Wir Kerizue von

McKenzie Snow Director