

John Robbins President Iowa Falls

Brooke Axiotis Vice President Des Molnes

Cindy Dietz Cedar Rapids

Cassandra Halls Carlisle

> Brian J. Kane Dubuque

Mary Meisterling Cedar Rapids

Michael McClelland Student Member (non-voting) Truro

Beth Townsend Iowa Workforce Development (non-voting)

> McKenzie Snow Director and Executive Officer

Minutes State Board of Education March 20, 2025

The State Board of Education meeting was held on March 20, 2025, at the Grimes State Office Building, Des Moines, Iowa. The meeting was conducted in person, with remote access information provided in the notice of the meeting.

State Board members present: John Robbins, Brian Kane, Brooke Axiotis, Mary Meisterling, Cindy Dietz, Cassandra Halls, Beth Townsend and Michael McClelland.

lowa Department of Education staff members present: McKenzie Snow, Deborah Elder, Tina Wahlert, Eric St Clair, Shaela Meister, Heather Doe, Thomas Mayes, Sandra Hurtado-Peters, Kassandra Cline, Amy Gieseke, Heather Meissen, Robin Lillienthal, Stephanie TeKippe, Kassandra Cline, Jina Brincks, Angelisa Fynaardt, Zach Blacksmith, Liza Garcia and Jeremy Anzevino.

State Board Business Meeting

John Robbins called the meeting to order at 9:03 a.m.

Motion: Mary Meisterling made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to approve the agenda.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

John Robbins announced public comment for 30 minutes.

Birgitta Meade made a public comment.

The following reports were provided:

Director's Report, by Director Snow.

Community Colleges Advisory Committee Update, by Cassandra Halls.

Consent Agenda

Motion: Cindy Dietz made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to approve the consent agenda.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

*Student Board Member Michael McClelland did not participate in the consent agenda discussion.

Rules: Chapter 21 – Community Colleges

Motion: Brooke Axiotis made a motion and Cassandra Halls seconded to adopt Chapter 21.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Rules: Chapter 46 – Career and Technical Education

Motion: Mary Meisterling made a motion and Brian Kane seconded to adopt Chapter 46.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Rules: Chapter 79 – Standards for Practitioner and Administrator Preparation Programs

Motion: Brooke Axiotis made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to adopt Chapter 79.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Fiscal year 2026 Area Education Agency Budget Approval – Central Rivers

Motion: Mary Meisterling made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to approve the budget for Central Rivers Area Education Agency.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

John Robbins announced a 10-minute break.

Fiscal year 2026 Area Education Agency Budget Approval – Grant Wood

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Cassandra Halls seconded to approve the budget for Grant Wood Area Education Agency.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Fiscal year 2026 Area Education Agency Budget Approval – Great Prairie

Motion: Cindy Dietz made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to approve the budget for Great Prairie Area Education Agency.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Fiscal year 2026 Area Education Agency Budget Approval – Green Hills

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Mary Meisterling seconded to approve the budget for Green Hills Area Education Agency.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Fiscal year 2026 Area Education Agency Budget Approval – Heartland

Motion: Brooke Axiotis made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to approve the budget for Heartland Area Education Agency.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Fiscal year 2026 Area Education Agency Budget Approval – Keystone

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Cassandra Halls seconded to approve the budget for Keystone Area Education Agency.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

John Robbins announced a lunch break until 12:48 p.m.

Fiscal year 2026 Area Education Agency Budget Approval – Mississippi Bend

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to approve the budget for Mississippi Bend Area Education Agency.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Fiscal year 2026 Area Education Agency Budget Approval – Northwest

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to approve the budget for Northwest Area Education Agency.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Fiscal year 2026 Area Education Agency Budget Approval – Prairie Lakes

Motion: Mary Meisterling made a motion and Cassandra Halls seconded to approve the budget for Prairie Lakes Area Education Agency.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

March School Budget Review Committee Hearing Update

The matter was discussed.

Hawkeye Community College Interim Accreditation Report

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to grant continued accreditation for Hawkeye Community College.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Faith Baptist Bible College – Substantive Change Request

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to approve Faith Baptist Bible College to offer an administrator preparation program.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at 3:16 p.m.

oblind d

Jøhn Robbins President

74 Kenzie -11 non

,

McKenzie Snow