# IOWA COLLEGE STUDENT AID COMMISSION Meeting Minutes

# Iowa College Aid Commission Meeting

January 10, 2025

# **Call to Order**

The Iowa College Aid Commission met January 10, 2025, at the Iowa Department of Education offices in the Grimes State Office Building. Commission Chair Emily Stork called the meeting to order at 10:01 a.m. with roll call. There was a quorum with six voting members present. Commissioner Chair Emily Stork moved to administrative rules.

### **Administrative Rules**

Section Chief Brown shared administrative rules for adoption and the administrative rules for notice.

Motion: Commissioner Shull moved to approve the following:

- Rescind chapters 25, 32, 35, and 36,
- And rescind and adopt chapters 24, 27, and 31

Motion: Commissioner Fitzgibbon seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

# **Members Present**

Emily Stork	Doug Shull	Tim Fitzgibbon
Katie Mulholland	Barbara Sloniker	McKenzie Snow
Herman Quirmbach	Terry Murrell	Mark Putnam

David Barker

#### **Members Absent**

Molly Buck Taylor Collins Jeff Taylor

# **Staff Present**

David Ford	Todd Brown	Christina Sibaouih
Lisa Pundt	Liz Yaddof	Karey Hawkins
Christine Nguyen	Danielle Sampson	Ty Patton
Keyli Kiefer	Tristan Lynn	Karmon Long
Trish Morris	Amber Miller	Nathan Svare
Thomas Mayes	Tracy Davis	Julie Ntem
Anne Thomas	•	

Commissioner Chair Emily Stork presented the minutes from the November 1, 2024 board meeting.

Motion: Commissioner Shull moved to approve the meeting minutes.

Motion: Commissioner Mulholland seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

### **Director's Updates**

Director McKenzie Snow provided the Director's Updates.

# IOWA COLLEGE STUDENT AID COMMISSION Meeting Minutes

### Quorum

A voting member left the meeting around 10:11 a.m. and there was no longer a guorum.

# **Executive Director and Bureau Chief's Report**

Executive Director and Bureau Chief David Ford provided the Bureau Chief's Report.

### Postsecondary Attainment Institute

Executive Director and Bureau Chief David Ford presented on the PAI reports.

# **Roles and Responsibilities of Commissioners**

General Counsel Mayes led a discussion around the roles and responsibilities of the commissioners.

### Staff Reports

Section Chief Todd Brown provided an update related to Scholarships & Grants.

Section Chief Christina Sibaouih provided an update related to Community Engagement.

Executive Director and Bureau Chief David Ford presented the Financial Report.

### **Committee Reports**

Audit and Finance Committee: Commissioner Fitzgibbon provided updates related to the Audit and Finance Committee.

Legislative Committee: Commissioner Mulholland provided updates related to the Legislative Committee.

### Commissioner Comments and Adjournment

Commissioners shared and discussed comments.

Emily Stork shared that the next board meeting will be March 7, 2025 from 10 a.m. to noon at the Iowa Department of Education, 400 E. 14th Street, Des Moines, Iowa.

Motion: Commissioner Fitzgibbon moved to adjourn the meeting.

Motion: Commissioner Shull seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

Emily Stork adjourned the meeting at 11:40 a.m.

Emily Stork, Chair Doug Shull, Vice Chair