# IOWA COLLEGE STUDENT AID COMMISSION **Meeting Minutes**

Iowa College Aid Commission Meeting

November 1, 2024

## Call to Order

The Iowa College Aid Commission met November 1, 2024, at the Iowa Department of Education offices in the Grimes State Office Building. Commission Chair Emily Stork called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m. with roll call. Initially, there was no quorum with only five voting members present (six are required for quorum). Commissioner Chair Emily Stork moved to section updates.

## **Executive Director and Bureau Chief's Report**

Executive Director and Bureau Chief David Ford provided the Bureau Chief's Report.

### Staff Reports

Section Chief Todd Brown introduced the Scholarships & Grants Report.

Lisa Pundt, presented the Postsecondary Authorization Report.

Section Chief Christina Sibaouih introduced the Community Engagement Report.

Christina Sibaouih presented the ECMC FAFSA Grant.

Executive Director and Bureau Chief David Ford presented the Financial Report.

### Quorum

A sixth voting member made it to the meeting. A quorum of six was present.

### **Director's Updates**

Director McKenzie Snow provided the Director's Updates.

### **Members Present**

**Emily Stork** Tim Fitzgibbon Doug Shull Katie Mulholland Barbara Sloniker McKenzie Snow Herman Quirmbach **Terry Murrell** Mark Putnam David Barker Jeff Taylor Members Absent Molly Buck **Taylor Collins** Staff Present

David Ford Lisa Pundt Christine Nguyen Julie Voss Nathan Svare

Rylie Maliszewski

Todd Brown Liz Yaddof **Danielle Sampson** Keyli Kiefer

Christina Sibaouih Karey Hawkins Ty Patton Tristan Lynn

## IOWA COLLEGE STUDENT AID COMMISSION Meeting Minutes

Commissioner Chair Emily Stork presented the minutes from the September 6, 2024 board meeting.

Motion: Commissioner Shull moved to approve the meeting minutes. Motion: Commissioner Fitzgibbon seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

#### Administrative Rules

Section Chief Brown shared administrative rules for adoption and the administrative rules for notice.

Motion: Commissioner Mulholland moved to approve the following:

- Rescind and adopt new Chapter 12,
- Rescind chapters 25, 32, 35, and 36,
- And rescind and re-promulgate chapters 24, 27, and 31

Motion: Commissioner Shull seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

#### **Committee Reports**

Audit and Finance Committee: Commissioner Fitzgibbon provided an update with discussion related to the Audit and Finance Committee.

Legislative Committee: Commissioner Mulholland provided updates related to the Legislative Committee.

#### **Commissioner Comments and Adjournment**

Commissioners shared and discussed comments.

Emily Stork shared that the next board meeting will be January 10, 2025 from 10:00 a.m. to noon at the Iowa Department of Education, 400 E. 14th Street, Des Moines, Iowa.

Motion: Commissioner Shull moved to adjourn the meeting. Motion: Commissioner Mulholland seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

Emily Stork adjourned the meeting at 11:10 a.m.

Emily Stork, Chair

Doug Shull, Vice Chair