# IOWA COLLEGE STUDENT AID COMMISSION

# **Meeting Minutes**

# Iowa College Aid Commission Meeting

# July 12, 2024

## Call to Order

The Iowa College Aid Commission met July 12, 2024 at the Iowa Department of Education offices in the Grimes Building. Commission Chair Emily Stork called the meeting to order at 10:08 a.m. with roll call. A quorum of 6 were present.

### **Director's Updates**

Director McKenzie Snow - absent.

### **Executive Director and Bureau Chief's Report**

Executive Director and Bureau Chief David Ford provided the Bureau Chief's Report

### Members Present

Emily StorkDoug ShullTim FitzgibbonRylie MaliszewskiKatie MulhollandBarbara SlonikerTaylor CollinsHerman QuirmbachMolly BuckDavid Barker (amended)Enter State Sta

### Members Absent

McKenzie Snow	<del>David Barker</del> (amended)	Terry Murrell
Mark Putnam	Jeff Taylor	-

### Staff Present

David Ford Lisa Pundt Liz Yaddof Todd Brown Megan Sibbel Jason Crowley Christina Sibaouih Anne Thomas Victoria Archer

### **Meeting Minutes Continued**

Commissioner Emily Stork presented the minutes from the March 22nd and May 17th, 2024 board meetings.

Motion: Commissioner Shull moved to approve the meeting minutes as written. Motion: Commissioner Fitzgibbon seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

# IOWA COLLEGE STUDENT AID COMMISSION

# **Meeting Minutes**

### Administrative Rules

Action #1 Section Chief Todd Brown presented recommended actions to rescind and adopt new in lieu thereof the following chapters:

- Chapter 8 All Iowa Opportunity Scholarships
- Chapter 11 Iowa Tuition Grant, for-profit institutions
- Chapter 13 Iowa Vocational-Technical Tuition Grant
- Chapter 23 Skilled Workforce Shortage Tuition Grant

Motion: Commissioner Fitzgibbon moved to approve all administrative rules Motion: Commissioner Mulholland seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

Action #2 - Rescind and adopt Chapter 12 Iowa Tuition Grant Motion: Commissioner Shull moved to approve all administrative rules Motion: Commissioner Mulholland seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

### Meeting Dates for 2025

Executive Director and Bureau Chief David Ford presented the proposed dates.

Motion: Commissioner Fitzgibbon moved to approve. Motion: Commissioner Stork seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

### **Commissioner Updates**

Commissioner Stork reported on the open board members positions and recommended disbanding the Human Resource and Community Engagement committee and adding Commissioner Mulholland to the Executive Committee.

Motion: Commissioner Fitzgibbon moved to approve. Motion: Commissioner Shull seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

### **Board Handbook**

Executive Director and Bureau Chief David Ford reported the Board Handbook will be at the next meeting.

### Staff Reports

Executive Director and Bureau Chief Ford introduced Administrative Consultant, Jason Crowley, from the Bureau of Information and Analysis Services, Iowa Department of Education, who presented the Iowa Postsecondary Readiness Reports.

# **IOWA COLLEGE STUDENT AID COMMISSION**

## **Meeting Minutes**

Section Chief Todd Brown presented the Scholarships & Grants Report.

Lisa Pundt, presented the Postsecondary Authorization Report.

Section Chief Christina Sibaouih introduced Community Engagement reports presented by:

Anne Thomas - LCAN report Megan Sibbel - FAFSA update Guest Anneke Mundel - Story County College Access Network Overview Liz Yaddof - FAFSA Completion Report

Executive Director and Bureau Chief David Ford presented the Financial Report.

#### Committee Reports

Audit and Finance Committee: Commissioner Fitzgibbon reported there was no additional information from the committee to report.

Legislative Committee: Commissioner <del>Fitzgibbon T</del>eported there was no additional information from the committee to report.

#### **Commissioner Comments and Adjournment**

Emily Stork shared that the next board meeting will be September 6, 2024 from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. at the Iowa Department of Education, 400 E. 14th Street, Des Moines, Iowa.

The Postsecondary Attainment Institute Board Meeting will follow that meeting from 12:00 noon to 12:30pm in the same location.

Emily Stork adjourned the meeting adjourned a 11:41am

Emily Stork, Chair

Doug Shull, Vice Chair