

Minutes State Board of Education May 9, 2024

Brooke Axiotis Vice President Des Moines

Cindy Dietz Cedar Rapids

Cassandra Halls Carlisle

> Brian J. Kane Dubuque

Mary Meisterling Cedar Rapids

> John Robbins President Iowa Falis

McKenzie Snow Director and Executive Officer The State Board of Education (State Board) meeting was held on April 26, 2024, in person, at the Grimes State Office Building, 400 E 14th St., Des Moines, Iowa.

State Board members present were John Robbins, Brooke Axiotis, Cindy Dietz, Brian Kane, Mary Meisterling, Cassandra Halls and Michael McClelland.

Iowa Department of Education staff members present were: McKenzie Snow, Deborah Elder, Thomas Mayes, Heather Doe, Eric St Clair, Kim Buryanek, Sandra Hurtado-Peters, Kassandra Cline, Jina Brincks, Maryam Rod Szabo, Amy Gieseke, Jay Pennington, Leigh Bellville, Wanda Steuri, Lora Vargason, Tom Wood, David Ford, Christina Sibaouih, Steve Ervin, and Jeremy Anzevino.

State Board Business Meeting

John Robbins called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

The meeting was conducted in person, with remote access information provided in the notice of the meeting.

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to approve the agenda.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Election of Officers

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Mary Meisterling seconded to elect John Robbins as the President of the Iowa State Board of Education.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to elect Brooke Axiotis as the Vice President of the Iowa State Board of Education.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

John Robbins announced public comment for 30 minutes.

Public Comment

No public comment was made.

Director's Report

Consent Agenda

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Cassandra Halls seconded to approve the meeting minutes from the April 26, 2024, State Board of Education Meeting.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Rules: Chapter 22 - Senior Year Plus

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to adopt Chapter 22.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Rules: Chapter 31 - Private Instruction

Motion: Cindy Dietz made a motion and Brian Kane seconded to adopt a new Chapter 31.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Rules: Chapters 77 and 79 – Standards for Teacher Intern Preparation Programs

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to rescind and reserve Chapter 77 and adopt Chapter 79.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Graduation Rates Report

English Language Arts Standards Revision First Read

John Robbins announced a 10-minute break. Reconvened at 10:47 a.m.

Educator Preparation Program Approval – Drake University

Motion: Brooke Axiotis made a motion and Mary Meisterling seconded to approve the Educator Preparation Program – Drake University.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Iowa Valley Community College District Interim and Equity Accreditation Report

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to grant continued accreditation for Iowa Valley Community College District.

.Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Iowa Community Colleges Certified Budget Report - Fiscal Year 2025

Motion: Cassandra Halls made a motion and Mary Meisterling seconded to approve the lowa Community Colleges Certified Budget.

.Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Great Prairie Area Education Agency Budget Review

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Cassandra Halls seconded to approve the Great Prairie Area Education Agency Budget for 2025 as presented.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

John Robbins announced a break for lunch. Reconvened at 12:40 p.m.

Overview of Dyslexia Supports Update

Gaining Early Awareness and Readiness for Undergraduate Programs (GEAR UP) lowar Discussion

Legislative Update

Senate Budget Review Committee Update

State Board of Education Meeting Dates for 2025

Motion: Mary Meisterling made a motion and Cindy Dietz seconded to approve the 2025 lowa State Board of Education meeting dates.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act Differentiated Accountability (IDEA-DA)

Motion: Brian Kane made a motion and Brooke Axiotis seconded to amend the agenda and move the IDEA-DA update to the June 20, 2024 State Board agenda.

Vote: The ayes were unanimous. The motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at 2:02 p.m.

John Robbins President McKenzie Snow

Director